India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI / 3rd ODI called off due to rain, Zealand win series

Zoom News : Nov 30, 2022, 04:06 PM
India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI : The third ODI between India and New Zealand at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch was abandoned due to rain.

Batting first after losing the toss, Team India was reduced to a score of 219 in 47.3 overs. Washington Sundar scored a half-century, scoring 51, while Shreyas Iyer scored 49. In response, New Zealand had scored 104 runs losing 1 wicket in 18 overs. Devon Conway scored 38 runs and captain Kane Williamson was at the crease without opening the account. Finn Allen was dismissed by Umran Malik after scoring 57 runs.

After this the game was not possible due to rain. The second ODI also had to be canceled due to rain. New Zealand has won the series 1-0.

Had there been two more overs in the third ODI, New Zealand would have won. In order to be decided in any ODI match, it is necessary to have at least 20-20 overs of play in both the innings. The Kiwis were 50 runs ahead under the Duckworth-Lewis method when play was stopped, but the result was inconclusive as 20 overs were not completed.

India's batting and bowling both flopped

Team India flopped on every front in the third ODI. Apart from Washington Sundar and Shreyas Iyer, no one could play a good inning in batting. Similarly, none of India's bowlers could make a significant impact in bowling 18 overs.

Team India could not even play 50 overs

Team India could not even play full 50 overs on the gross wicket of Hagley Oval. The Kiwi bowlers kept hammering him at regular intervals and the team did not manage to score big. Only Shreyas Iyer and Washington Sundar spent some time at the crease. The rest of the batsmen looked in a hurry.

Team India's wickets fell like this

  • Shubman Gill: Tried to flick the ball to Milne, but was caught by Santner towards square leg.
  • Shikhar Dhawan: Adam Milne clean bowled Dhawan.
  • Rishabh Pant: Daryl Mitchell's ball caught by Glenn Phillips at deep square leg.
  • Suryakumar Yadav: Caught by Tim Southee on Milne's ball.
  • Shreyas Iyer: Devon Conway takes a brilliant catch at deep point off Lockie Ferguson.
  • Deepak Hooda: Wanted to pull Saudi's ball, but was caught by Latham behind the wicket.
  • Deepak Chahar: Wanted to pull the ball from Daryl Mitchell. Tim Southee caught near mid-wicket.
  • Yajuvendra Chahal: Caught by Tim Southee on Santner's ball. The ball was lifted in the air with the top edge. Southee caught near slip.
  • Arshdeep Singh: LBW by Daryl Mitchell.
  • Washington Sundar: Caught behind the wicket by Tom Latham on Tim Southee's ball.