Lok Sabha / Lok Sabha Election 2019 : Re-polling at two booths in West Bengal tomorrow

India Today : May 11, 2019, 09:30 AM

Campaigning for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha 2019 elections has ended. Over 10.17 crore voters across 59 constituencies of 7 states will decide the fate of 979 candidates by casting their votes on May 12. Voting will take place tomorrow for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, 8 seats each in West Bengal, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, 7 in Delhi and 4 in Jharkhand. Akhilesh Yadav, Sheila Dikshit, Digvijay Singh and Sadhavi Pragya Singh Thakur are some of the key candidates contesting tomorrow. Meanwhile, the poll battle is getting bitter in Delhi with the AAP and the BJP locking horns over Atishi's charges regarding the derogatory pamphlet. East Delhi is set witness an intense triangular contest between Gautam Gambhir (BJP), Atishi (AAP) and Arvinder Singh Lovely (Congress). With Phase 6 almost here, campaigning has picked up for the seventh and last phase of general elections. While PM Modi is scheduled to address election rallies in Robertsganj and Ghazipur, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi will be holding rallies at three places in Madhya Pradesh. Stay tuned to IndiaToday.in for all the live news updates.

TDP chief and Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu in a series of tweets targeting PM Modi and Amit Shah, asks why Modi is scared of counting of VVPATs and why is BJP is against it.

He further tweeted that on May 23 people of this country will reject Modi and a new government will into existence. Naidu said Modi does not even shy away from dragging dead leaders into elections for political gains. He also said Modi instigates religious sentiments and preaches idealism.

The Election Commission has declared polling at booths 116-Kanchrapara Udbodhoni Madhyamik Vidyalay in 15-Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency and 110-Laskarpur Netaji Prathamik Vidayala in Arambag Lok Sabha constituency as void. The EC has ordered re-polling at the two booths in West Bengal on May 12.