West Bengal / Violence continues in Bengal: Bomb hurled at BJP’s victory rally in Birbhum; 4 injured

ABP News : May 28, 2019, 10:45 AM
The series of violence in West Bengal does not seem to cease even after the culmination of Lok Sabha polls. BJP workers in the state came under an alleged bomb attack by TMC goons during a procession taken out to celebrate party’s good performance in the state.

The attack on BJP’s ‘bijoy michil’ in Mayureswar in Birbhum district took place on Monday, in which four people were injured.

The Bomb was hurled at the rally in broad day light allegedly by TMC backed goons.

BJP worker held a rally after landslide victory of BJP across India at 4:30 pm.

When the ‘michil’ crossed Lokpara area, a country-made bomb was hurled to the rally in the presence of police in the rally.

On Friday, a violent clash broke out between the BJP and TMC workers following the poll results, in which several members of both groups were critically injured. The conflict broke out between the two groups at Shalimar in Howrah district last night after BJP succeeded in making political inroads in the territory of Mamata Banerjee. Both groups pelted stones on each other. Three policemen were also injured when they went to control the situation. Several supporters of both parties were seriously injured in the clash.

poradic incidents of violence marred polling in West Bengal during all the seven phases of the elections. Clashes between TMC and BJP also became quintessential of polling in the state.

Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress continues to maintain her hold in West Bengal by bagging 24 out of 42 seats as per the trends.

The Bharatiya Janta Party has however performed explicitly well in the state as it has appeared as second largest party with 17 seats against the Congress which won only 1 seat. The left however has lost its place in the state as it did not get any of the 42 seats.

In the previous Lok Sabha polls, the highest number of seats, were bagged by Mamata’s Trinamool Congress (34 seats), whereas the Communist Party of India (Marxist) won only two seats