Cricket / ICC announces Men's Test Team of the Decade

Zoom News : Dec 27, 2020, 06:05 PM
Cricket Desk: The ICC, on Sunday, December 27, have announced the Men’s Test Team of the Decade and Indian skipper Virat Kohli has been named the captain of the XI. Kohli made his Test debut in 2011 and took over the captaincy of the longest format, from MS Dhoni, in the year 2014 amid India’s tour of Australia.

India’s premier off-spinner in Tests Ravichandran Ashwin is the only other Indian cricketer to have made the list of the ICC Men’s Test Team of the decade. Ashwin, who made his Test debut in 2011 and is currently playing the Test series in Australia, has 2404 runs and 370 wickets from 72 Test matches.

The team includes 4 Test players from England but captain Joe Root, who is also a part of the Fab Four of the era, has not found a place. Other members of the Fab Four - Kohli, Steve Smith and Kane Williamson have been include in the Test team of the decade.

England’s legendary batsman, Sir Alastair Cook is among the 4 England players in the list with the other 3 being the sensational all-rounder Ben Stokes and the legendary pace duo of Stuart Broad and James Anderson. The legendary Kumar Sangakkara, former captain of Sri Lanka, has been named the wicketkeeper of the side.

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Decade – The best overall performer in men’s Test cricket during the performance period:

James Anderson (England)

Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)

Virat Kohli (India)

Joe Root (England)

Yasir Shah (Pakistan)

Steve Smith (Australia)

Kane Williamson (New Zealand)