IND vs WI / India lost for the first time in a 5-match bilateral series – Windies beat by 8 wickets

Zoom News : Aug 14, 2023, 12:45 AM
IND vs WI: Team India, captained by Hardik Pandya, has lost 3-2 T20 against West Indies. The Caribbeans defeated the Indian team by 8 wickets in the last and deciding T20 match. The Indian team has lost a 5-match series for the first time in T20 cricket. Not only this, the team has lost a series after winning 15 consecutive bilateral series against the Caribbeans. The team lost the last series in 2016. Batting after winning the toss, Team India scored 165 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs at the Cricket Ground in Lauderhill, Florida. In response, the Caribbean batsmen scored the required runs for 2 wickets in 18 overs.

Reasons for India's defeat

Bad start Team India got off to a bad start after winning the toss. The team lost the first wicket on the score of 6 runs. Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, who scored a half-century in the last match, was dismissed after scoring 5 runs. After him, Shubman Gill also returned to the pavilion after scoring 9 runs. The Indian team had lost the wickets of the openers for 17 runs.

Lost wickets continuously The Indian team lost wickets continuously. Lost the first 2 wickets at the score of 17 runs only. Small partnerships were built in the middle overs, but India lost 9 wickets by the end. Because of this, not many runs could be scored even in the death overs. India had 4 wickets in 16 overs, which became 9 in 20 overs.

Bowlers failed to take wickets Indian bowlers completely failed to take wickets. Arshdeep Singh took the only wicket in the match. He dismissed Kyle Mayers on the team score of 12. This was followed by a century partnership between Nicholas Pooran and Brandon King.

Analysis: Surya fell alone, bowlers could not get wickets

Suryakumar Yadav, who came to play at number-3 after the openers returned to the pavilion for 17 runs, performed his responsibility well, but he did not get the support of any other batsman except Tilak Verma. Tilak could also contribute only 27 runs. The remaining batsmen of Team India could not cross the 20 mark.

Captain Pandya, wicketkeeper Samson and Akshar could not perform well. Romario Shepherd of the Windies bowled brilliantly and took four wickets. Akil Hussain and Jason Holder also got 2-2 wickets.

In the counter-innings, fast bowler Arshdeep Singh created pressure by giving West Indies the first blow for 12 runs, but the rest of the bowlers could not take advantage of this pressure. Nicholas Pooran and opener Brandon King, who came to play here, got their feet and made a century partnership for the second wicket. Which dashed the hopes of India's return.

West Indies better than India

The West Indies team got the better of India in the powerplay contest of the match. The Caribbean team scored 61 runs for one wicket in the opening 6 overs, while the Indian team lost two wickets in the same over to score 51 runs.

West Indies wickets fell like this

  • First: Kyle Meyers (10 runs) – Arshdeep caught by Jaiswal on the second ball of the second over. Arsh bowled a backoff length delivery, Mears looked to punch it and was caught by Jaiswal at midwicket.
  • Second: Nicholas Pooran (47 runs) – On the second ball of the 14th over, Tilak Verma got caught by Captain Pandya. Verma bowled a fuller ball, Pooran wanted to hit, but the ball edged up.
India scored 165 runs with Surya's fifty, Shepherd got four successes

Batting first after winning the toss, Team India scored 165 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs at the Cricket Ground in Lauderhill, Florida. Suryakumar Yadav played a half-century innings of 61 runs. He scored 15th Fifty of T20 International career. Apart from Surya, Tilak Verma played an inning of 27 runs off 18 balls. Verma scored three fours and two sixes in this innings.

Romario Shepherd took four wickets for the Windies. Akil Hussain and Jason Holder got two wickets each.

Suryakumar scored his 15th half-century

India's star batsman Suryakumar Yadav scored the 15th century of T20 International. Surya played an inning of 61 runs in 45 balls. It included 4 fours and 3 sixes.

Team India's wickets fell like this

  • First: Yashasvi Jaiswal (5 runs) - Akil Hussain caught and bowled on the 5th ball of the first over. Jaiswal hit this ball of good length straight and Akeel did not make a mistake in taking the catch.
  • Second: Shubman Gill (9 runs) – Hussain lbw Gill on the 5th ball of the third over. Gill wanted to sweep the good length ball outside off stump, but missed and the ball hit the pad. Although Gill did not take DRS. It was later learned that the ball pitched outside off stump and was going outside leg stump.
  • Third: Tilak Verma (27 runs) - Chase got Tilak caught and bowled on the fifth ball of the 8th over. Chase wanted to hit a full length ball in front, but at the last moment the bat folded and the ball took the outer edge of the lower part of the bat and went back in the direction of the bowler.
  • Fourth: Sanju Samson (13 runs) - On the second ball of the 11th over, Shepherd got Samson caught by Pooran. Shepherd bowled a length ball near the off stump, which took the outside edge of the bat and went into the gloves of wicketkeeper Pooran.
  • Fifth: Hardik Pandya (14 runs) - Romario Shepherd caught Pandya by Jason Holder on the second ball of the 17th over. Fuller length ball on off stump, Pandya is caught at long on.
  • Sixth: Suryakumar Yadav (61 runs) – Jason Holder did LBW on the 5th ball of the 18th over. Surya wanted to flick the low-full toss ball, but missed it and the ball hit the pads.
  • Seventh: Arshdeep Singh (8 runs) – Romario Shepherd bowled on the fourth ball of the 19th over. The length ball was played cross and the ball scattered the stumps.
  • Eighth: Kuldeep Yadav (0 run) - Shepherd made Yadav LBW on the 5th ball of the 19th over. Length ball around off stump hits the pads. The first umpire felt that the bat had an edge, but on DRS, the third umpire called Kuldeep out.
  • Ninth: Akshar Patel (13 runs) - Holder caught by Shepherd on the 5th ball of the 20th over. Off wanted to remove the bouncy ball over short third match, but was caught by Shepherd.
Team India's mixed start

Electing to bat after winning the toss, Team India made a mixed start in the powerplay. The team scored 51 runs for two wickets in 6 overs. Jaiswal got out after scoring 5 and Gill 9 runs. In such a situation, the Surya-Tilak pair took over the responsibility.

Playing-11 of both the teams...

India: Hardik Pandya (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar and Arshdeep Singh.

West Indies: Rovman Powell (c), Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Akil Hussain, Roston Chase and Alzarri Joseph.