IND vs WI / India won by 9 wickets in 4th T20 series leveled at 2-2

Zoom News : Aug 12, 2023, 11:30 PM
IND vs WI: Team India has defeated West Indies by 9 wickets in the fourth T20 match on the basis of Gill-Jaiswal partnership. With this, the Indian team has achieved a 2-2 draw in the 5-match series. The decisive match will be played on August 13 at Lauderhill Cricket Ground in Florida from 8:30 pm. The heroes of this victory were young openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill. Both made an opening partnership of 165 runs. This is the biggest partnership of Indian openers against West Indies. Batting first after winning the toss on Saturday, West Indies scored 178 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. In response, the Indian team won in 17 overs.

Team India's wicket fell

  • First: Shubman Gill (77 runs): The third ball of the 16th over was bowled by Romario Shepherd on full length, Gill wanted to flick the off stump ball. Caught him near Hope midwicket.
Hetmyer's Fifty, West Indies scored 178 runs

Batting first after winning the toss, West Indies scored 178 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs at Lauderhill Cricket Ground in Florida, USA.

For the Windies, Shimron Hetmyer (61 runs) scored 5th fifty, while Shai Hope scored an inning of 45 runs.

Arshdeep Singh took 3 wickets from the Indian team. 2 successes for Kuldeep Yadav. Akshar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal and Mukesh Kumar got one wicket each.

Hetmyer's trouble-shooting innings

Shimron Hetmyer played a trouble-shooting innings for the Windies. He came out to play as a number-6 batsman after falling 4 wickets at 57. Hetmyer got the team out of trouble by sharing a 49-run partnership with Hope. After that, sharing a 44-run partnership with Odion Smith, who came down the order, took the score to 165. On the basis of Hetmyer's innings, the Windies team could give a target of 179 runs.

Windies openers returned to the pavilion in the powerplay

The first powerplay of the match was mixed. In this West Indies scored 55 runs losing two wickets. Kyle Meyers 17 and Brandon King were dismissed after scoring 18 runs. Both were dismissed by Arshdeep Singh.

West Indies wickets fell like this

  • First: Kyle Meyers (17 runs) - Arshdeep bowled the fourth ball bouncer of the second over, but Meyers could not handle it and the ball took the edge of the bat and went towards the wicketkeeper. Sanju Samson jumps up and takes a brilliant catch.
  • Second: Brandon King (18 runs) – Arshdeep caught by Kuldeep Yadav. The fourth ball of the sixth over was bowled by Arshdeep Singh on a good length, which was swinging towards the outside. King wanted to play a shot on it, but the ball took the outside edge of the bat and caught it in the direction of short third man.
  • 3rd: Nicholas Pooran (One Run) - The first ball of the 7th over was going outside off stump, which Pooran wanted to play towards Vipreen on of the turn, but went to Suryakumar Yadav.
  • Fourth: Rovman Powell (one run) – Kuldeep Yadav kept the 5th ball of the 7th over outside the leg stump. Coming in with the turn, Powell flicked it and went to Gill standing at slip.
  • Fifth: Shai Hope (45 runs) Chahal got Shai Hope caught by Akshar Patel on the 5th ball of the 13th over. Middle-leg ball turns slightly. Hope wanted to hit it but was caught by Akshar Patel at long-on.
  • Sixth: Romariae Shepherd (9 runs) - Akshar Patel bowled the second ball of the 15th over at fuller length, Shepherd hit the ball, but the ball pitched up at the crease. Caught by wicketkeeper Sanju Samson.
  • Seventh: Jason Holder (3 runs) - Mukesh Kumar caught by Jason Holder on the third ball of the 16th over.
  • Eighth: Shimron Hetmyer (61 runs) - Arshdeep hit a wide bouncer in the second ball of the 20th over, on which Hetmyer played a pull towards the leg, but the height of the ball was high. In such a situation, Tilak Verma caught a great catch.
No change in Team India, 3 in Windies; return of holder-hope

There is no change in the Indian team, while the West Indies have come down with 3 changes. Fast bowlers Jason Holder, Shai Hope and Odin Smith have returned. Roston Chase, Johnson Charles and Alzarri Joseph have been dropped.

See playing-11

India: Hardik Pandya (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar and Arshdeep Singh.

West Indies: Rovman Powell (c), Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Akil Hussain, Odion Smith and Obed McCoy.