WTC Final / New Zealand created history by defeating Team India and became the world champion of Test

Zoom News : Jun 24, 2021, 06:13 AM
New Zealand has created history by defeating Team India by 8 wickets in the final of the World Test Championship (WTC). She has become the world champion of Test. He has captured the first trophy of the World Test Championship. New Zealand achieved the target of 139 runs in 45.5 overs for the loss of two wickets. Kane Williamson played the captaincy innings for New Zealand. He scored an unbeaten 52. Williamson got good support from experienced batsman Ross Taylor (47 not out). Both shared a 96-run partnership for the third wicket. From India R. Ashwin took both the wickets of New Zealand.

Chasing the target of 139 runs, the New Zealand team started off cautiously. The pair of Tom Latham and Devon Conway added 33 runs. Ravichandran Ashwin gave India the first breakthrough by getting Tom Latham (9) stumped by Rishabh Pant in the third ball of the 14th over.

After this, he also made the second opener Devon Conway (19) his victim. Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson took the lead after Conway was dismissed. Taylor played a major role in relieving the pressure while batting aggressively.

Kohli and Pujara were flo

Earlier, India started playing ahead of 64 runs for 2 wickets in the morning. Two of his wickets fell in the very first hour of the day. Captain Virat Kohli (13 off 29 balls) and Cheteshwar Pujara (15 off 80 balls) became the victims of Kyle Jameson.

In the second session also the Indian batsmen could not do much. In India's innings, Rohit Sharma scored 30 runs, Shubman Gill 8, Ravindra Jadeja 15, Ravichandran Ashwin 7, Mohammed Shami 13 and Jasprit Bumrah got out without opening the account, while Ishant Sharma remained unbeaten on one run.

The Indian team scored 217 runs in their first innings. In reply, New Zealand had taken a lead of 32 runs after scoring 249 runs. India's second innings was reduced to 170 runs and he gave the target of 139 runs to the Kiwi team.