IPL 2024 / Not only the umpires, Sanju are under question, there is an uproar over the decisions given against these players too

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 08, 2024, 11:10 AM
IPL 2024: This season of IPL is full of entertainment for the fans. Fans are getting to see a lot of fours and sixes this season. Many such feats have been seen in IPL 2024 which had never happened in the last 16 seasons. But this time the umpires seem to be under question. The umpires have given many such decisions this season over which there has been a lot of uproar. The surprising thing is that this time the third umpires have also been seen giving some controversial decisions.

Ruckus on Sanju Samson's wicket

A new controversy related to umpiring has come to light in the match played between Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals. This controversy happened regarding the wicket of Sanju Samson. In the 16th over of the match, he hit a big stroke on the ball of Mukesh Kumar, which was caught by Shai Hope standing on the boundary line. At that time Shai Hope was very close to the boundary rope. In such a situation, help was sought from the third umpires for this decision. The third umpire checked and then declared Samson out. The surprising thing was that the third umpire did not take much time to give this decision. At the same time, many photos and videos are going viral on social media, in which Shai Hope is seen touching the boundary rope and the ball is still in his hand.

Ayush Badoni was given wrong run out!

Lucknow Super Giants and Mumbai Indians were face to face in the 48th match of IPL 2024. There was a lot of uproar in this match regarding the run out of Ayush Badoni. Badoni tried to take a double run in the 19th over of the match. Ishan Kishan failed to dislodge the bails in the first attempt and when he did so again, the batsman had already reached the crease. But the third umpire gave him out. Not only Lucknow, but many former players were also angry over this decision.

Questions were also raised on Prithvi Shaw's catch out.

Delhi Capitals opener Prithvi Shaw was caught out in the 40th match of IPL 2024. However, there was controversy over his wicket also. Fans alleged that Prithvi Shaw was wrongly given out by the third umpire. Actually, Shaw was caught by Noor Ahmed at deep square leg. But when this player caught Shaw, it seemed as if the ball had made contact with the ground. After this the on-field umpire sent the decision to the third umpire. But the third umpire declared Prithvi Shaw out. Apart from these, the umpires have given many controversial decisions this season, which include many wide ball decisions.

Demand for specialist third umpire raised

Questions are being raised on the level of third umpiring in IPL. Due to which, a few days ago, Tom Moody, who had won the IPL title as head coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad, had demanded a specialist third umpire in the IPL. He had expressed this opinion on his social media account. Moody had written that now the time has come that we should consider keeping specialist third umpires, too many questionable decisions are being taken. Some umpires are better on the field, third umpires require experience and different skills.