Karnataka News / Tomorrow CM Siddaramaiah will expand cabinet, 24 ministers will take oath! Rahul will meet today

Zoom News : May 26, 2023, 07:55 AM
Karnataka News: In the government of Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, now there is a problem regarding the names of cabinet ministers. However, according to sources, the names have been finalized in a meeting held in Delhi between Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Deputy CM DK Shivakumar and central leaders of the party. CM Siddaramaiah will meet Rahul Gandhi today (Friday) regarding this. According to the information, there will be 24 more ministers who will take oath on Saturday. Earlier on May 20, Siddaramaiah and state Congress President DK Shivakumar took oath as the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister. Along with them, eight MLAs including Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge's son Priyank Kharge also took oath as ministers.

Prepare list of ministers

However, the allocation of portfolios has not been done till now. At the same time, the BJP is constantly taunting the Congress regarding this. While balancing different communities, it will be a difficult task for the Congress to prepare a list of ministers or allocate portfolios. Lingayats, the politically most important community in the state, had staked claim for the chief minister's post, citing their huge contribution to the Congress victory.

Large share of Lingayat community

In the absence of a Lingayat chief minister, speculation is rife that a part of the ministerial posts will go to the MLAs from this community. With the general elections due next year, the pressure is on the Congress to show quick results and deliver on the promises made before the elections. Please tell that Karnataka sends 28 MPs to the Lok Sabha.

Changes in the policies of the BJP government

On the other hand, the new minister Priyank Kharge made it clear that the new Congress government will review and correct the policies of the previous BJP government. Due to this, it is being speculated that the government can take a big decision on Muslim quota, hijab ban and anti-conversion laws. He said that if any bill or government order that creates disharmony in Karnataka, it will be reviewed or rejected.

Congress got 43 percent votes

The Congress had won a landslide victory in Karnataka earlier this month by winning 135 of the state's 224 seats. BJP ruling the state won 66 seats and HD Kumaraswamy's Janata Dal Secular won 19 seats. The Congress has also increased its vote share from 38.1 per cent in 2018 to 42.9 per cent. At the same time, the vote percentage of JDS fell from 18.3 to 13.3 percent. The BJP, on the other hand, maintained its 36 per cent vote share from 2018.