IPL 2024 Retention / All teams have the last day for retention decision today, these players will have leave

Zoom News : Nov 26, 2023, 09:30 AM
IPL 2024 Retention: Fans always wait for the new season of IPL. Before that there is a wait for the auction to be held for the new season. The auction of players in IPL always brings excitement but in the last few years, an interesting phase has been added even before the auction - player retention. That means which players will a team keep and whom will it release before going to the auction. From the start of IPL 2024 season, the day for the decision of this retention is Sunday 26th November i.e. today. Today it will be decided which players have been released by all the 10 teams and which ones have been kept.

The first stop of any new IPL season is the trading window and retention day. While the teams exchange players among themselves during the trading window, on the retention day they have to give complete information about the released and retained players to the BCCI. On the basis of this, players are registered in the auction and then the auction process is completed. This time the auction is to be held on 19th December and in such a situation, the squads of all the franchises will be revealed on the Sunday before that.

A lot of exchange in the trading window

This time there has been a lot of activity in the trading window before the retention day and Hardik Pandya has grabbed most of the headlines. The captain of Gujarat Titans is once again returning to his old franchise Mumbai Indians. Its official announcement will also be made today. Apart from Hardik, some trades like Avesh Khan-Devdutt Padikkal, Shahbaz Ahmed-Mayank Dagar and Romario Shepherd have already been made. Apart from these, the trade of some players may also be revealed on Sunday. Whereas players like Joe Root and Ben Stokes have withdrawn their names from the new season.

Will these players be furloughed?

Apart from these, let's take a look at which big names all the 10 franchises can release from their current squad. The list given below is only the probable players who are likely to be released based on their performance from last season-

CSK – Dwayne Pretorius, Kyle Jamieson, Sisanda Magala

RCB – Finn Allen, Dinesh Karthik, Harshal Patel, Wayne Parnell

MI – Joffra Archer, Riley Meredith, Jhay Richardson, Piyush Chawla,

DC – Rovman Powell, Manish Pandey, Ishant Sharma, Riley Rousseau

GT – Hardik Pandya (Trade) Matthew Wade, Odion Smith, Dasun Shanka, Joshua Little

KKR – Shardul Thakur, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Tim Southee

LSG – Romario Shepherd (trade), Daniel Sams, Deepak Hooda, Avesh Khan (trade)

PBKS – Matthew Short, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Sam Curran

RR– Devdutt Padikkal (trade), Donovan Ferreira, Joe Root, Obed McCoy, Adam Zampa.

SRH– Harry Brook, Akeal Hossain, Adil Rashid