SRH vs RCB / Bengaluru beat Hyderabad by 8 wickets – Virat and Klaasen scored centuries

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 18, 2023, 11:06 PM
SRH vs RCB: In the Indian Premier League (IPL), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets with the help of Virat Kohli's sixth century. Electing to bat first after losing the toss at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad, Heinrich Klaasen scored a century. On the basis of Classen's century, the team scored 186 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs. In response, Bangalore achieved the target by losing 2 wickets in 19.2 overs on the basis of Kohli's century and his 172-run partnership with Faf du Plessis.

Virat's IPL century after 1489

Virat Kohli scored his first century in the season against Sunrisers Hyderabad. This is Virat's sixth IPL century, he last scored a century on 19 April 2019 against Kolkata Knight Riders in Kolkata. In this way Kohli scored a century in IPL after 1489 days. Earlier, Virat had scored 4 centuries in the 2016 season. His best IPL score is 113 runs.

With his sixth century, Kohli equaled the record for most hundreds in IPL. Chris Gayle of West Indies also has 6 centuries in IPL. Jos Buttler is second in this list with 5 centuries.

Century partnership in Kohli-du Plessis

Bengaluru captain Faf du Plessis and Virat Kohli shared another century partnership in the season. Du Plessis completed his fifty in 34 balls and Kohli in 36 balls. This is Kohli's overall 51st and du Plessis's 34th half-century.

RCB's fast start in Powerplay

Chasing the target of 187 runs, Bangalore got off to a brisk start by Virat Kohli. Captain Faf du Plessis also started hitting shots from the third over. Both did Fifty Partnership in the fifth over and in 6 overs the team's score reached 64 runs without loss.

Hyderabad lost 2 wickets in Powerplay

Batting first after losing the toss, the openers got Hyderabad off to a steady start. After adding 27 runs in 4 overs, both Abhishek Sharma and Rahul Tripathi were dismissed in the 5th over. Both were sent to the pavilion by Michael Bracewell. Heinrich Klaasen and Aiden Markram, who landed in the 5th over, handled the innings and scored 21 runs in just 9 balls. Both made the team score 49 runs in 6 overs.

Fifty Partnership at Klaasen-Markram

After losing 2 wickets in the fifth over itself, Heinrich Klaasen took over for SRH along with skipper Aiden Markram. Both shared a partnership of 76 runs off 50 balls. Marker was dismissed after scoring 18 runs and this partnership was broken. Klaasen added 58 Runs to this partnership.

Klaasen then shared a 74-run partnership with Harry Brook off 36 balls. This partnership was broken with the wicket of Klaasen. Brook scored 26 runs off 16 balls in this partnership.

None other than classen walked

Apart from Klaasen from Hyderabad, the rest of the batters could not do much. Abhishek Sharma scored 11 off 14 balls, Rahul Tripathi scored 15 off 12 balls, Captain Aiden Markram scored 18 off 20 balls, Harry Brook scored 27 off 19 balls and Glenn Phillips scored 5 off 4 balls. Bracewell took 2 wickets from Bangalore, while Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammad Siraj and Harshal Patel got 1-1 wickets.

Klaasen's first IPL century

In the powerplay, wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen, who came out to bat at number-4 from Hyderabad, did an excellent batting. He hit fifty off 24 balls and also shared a 76-run partnership with captain Aiden Markram. Even after Markram, he kept one end and completed his first IPL century in 49 balls. He became the victim of Harshal Patel after scoring 104 runs in 51 balls.

7th century of the season

Klaasen has 7th century of this season. Before him, Harry Brook of Hyderabad, Shubman Gill of Gujarat, Yashasvi Jaiswal of Rajasthan, Suryakumar Yadav of Mumbai, Venkatesh Iyer of Kolkata and Prabhsimran Singh of Punjab have scored centuries. The special thing is that all the seven players scored a century for the first time in the tournament.

This is how the wickets of Hyderabad fell.

First: Michael Bracewell bowled the first ball of the fifth over to a good length on the off stump. Abhishek Sharma is caught at covers. He scored 11 runs.

Second: Third ball of the fifth over, Bracewell bowled a good length on the middle stump. Rahul Tripathi is caught at short fine leg. He scored 15 runs.

Third: Shahbaz Ahmed bowled the fifth ball of the 13th over on a good length. Aiden Markram went to play reverse sweep, but got bowled. He scored 18 runs off 20 balls.

Fourth: Harshal Patel bowled a slower yorker in the fifth ball of the 19th over. Heinrich Klaasen gets bowled. He scored 104 runs.

Fifth: The fifth ball of the 20th over, Mohammad Siraj bowled a short pitch on the leg stump. Glenn Phillips is caught at square leg. He scored 5 runs.

Playing XI of both the teams...

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Anuj Rawat (wicketkeeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Michael Bracewell, Wayne Parnell, Harshal Patel, Karn Sharma and Mohammed Siraj.

Impact Players: Dinesh Karthik, Vijaykumar Vaishak, Himanshu Sharma, Suyash Prabhudesai and Kedar Jadhav.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Aiden Markram (Captain), Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Heinrich Klaasen (Wicketkeeper), Harry Brook, Glenn Phillips, Abdul Samad, Karthik Tyagi, Mayank Dagar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Nitish Reddy.

Impact Players: Mayank Markande, T Natarajan, Vivrant Sharma, Sanveer Singh and Akil Hossain.