RCB vs CSK / Chennai Super Kings' IPL journey ends - Bengaluru qualifies for playoffs

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 19, 2024, 12:08 AM
RCB vs CSK: In the Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) on Saturday, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 27 runs. With this win, RCB made it to the playoffs. The team won 6 consecutive matches in the league stage. RCB scored 218 runs at the loss of 5 wickets at Chinnaswamy Stadium. CSK could score only 191 runs after losing 7 wickets. MS Dhoni, Shardul Thakur and Ravindra Jadeja could score only 7 runs in the last over.

RCB Innings

In a do or die match, RCB scored 218 runs against Chennai after losing five wickets in 20 overs. RCB got off to a good start after losing the toss and opting to bat first. In this rain-affected match, there was a partnership of 31 runs between Virat Kohli and Faf Duplessis in the first three overs of the power play. After this, only 11 runs were scored in the last three overs. However, after the powerplay, there was a storm from Kohli and Duplessis and there was a partnership of 78 runs between the two for the first wicket. Santner got King Kohli caught out on the fourth ball of the 10th over. He returned to the pavilion after scoring 47 runs in 29 balls. During this, three fours and four sixes came from his bat. The second blow to the team came in the form of captain Faf Duplessis who completed his half-century in 35 balls. He managed to score 54 runs in 39 balls. However, he was run out. After this, Rajat Patidar and Cameron Green took charge. There was a partnership of 71 runs between the two which was broken by Shardul Thakur in the 18th over. He got the Indian batsman caught by Daryl Mitchell. Patidar faced 23 balls in this match and managed to score 41 runs with the help of two fours and four sixes. After this, Dinesh Karthik, who came to bat at number five, was out after scoring 14 runs. He was caught by Tushar Deshpande at the hands of Dhoni. He returned after scoring 14 runs. After this Glenn Maxwell faced only five balls and scored 16 runs. During this, he hit two fours and one six. Whereas, Cameron Green 38 and Mahipal Lomror returned to the pavilion without opening the account. For Chennai, Shardul Thakur took two wickets while Tushar and Mitchell Santner took one wicket each.