India / Committees of 50 MPs changed know what came in the share of Rahul Gandhi

Zoom News : Oct 10, 2021, 06:38 AM
New Delhi : Departmental Standing Committees of Parliament have been reconstituted. Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu has nominated 237 members of the House. This time 50 members have been nominated for new committees as compared to last year. Prominent MPs whose committees have changed include Sushil Modi, Chhaya Verma, Manoj Kumar Jha, Shakti Singh Gohil, Sasmit Patra, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Derek O'Brien, Indubala Goswami, Mausam Noor and MC Mary Kom.

Rahul Gandhi will remain in the Standing Committee on Defense as before

In the restructuring of various departmental standing committees of Parliament, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi will remain in the standing committee on defense as before. NCP leader Sharad Pawar is also on this committee. Jual Oram is the chairman of the Committee on Defense. Ravi Shankar Prasad will be a member of the Standing Committee on Finance after his exit from the Union Cabinet. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is also on this committee. The chairman of the committee is Jayant Sinha. Prakash Javadekar will be a member of the Standing Committee on External Affairs. PP Choudhary is the chairman of this committee. It is worth noting that the standing committee consists of twenty members of the Lok Sabha and 11 from the Rajya Sabha.

According to sources in the Rajya Sabha Secretariat, Naidu has nominated 237 members of the Rajya Sabha to 24 different Standing Committees of Parliament in the year 2021. The members whose committees have been changed include 28 MPs with low attendance in the meetings of the committees of the last year 2020-21. Of these 28 members, 12 had zero attendance. Naidu is laying great emphasis on attendance in the meetings of the committees. He had also given suggestions in this regard to all the parties. According to sources, there could have been more changes depending on the attendance, but some leaders said that last year the attendance has been less due to Kovid-19 and state elections. These suggestions took time. So this year there has been some delay in the reconstitution of the committees.

Actually, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat had sent the attendance figures to all the parties. He was asked to reconsider. Among the major changes that have taken place in the restructuring of the committees, Sushil Modi has been shifted from the Committee on Science, Technology and Urban Development to the Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances and Law and Justice. He will also be the chairman of these committees. Earlier Bhupendra Yadav was the chairman of these committees, but after he became a minister, this post became vacant.

Chhaya Verma from Agriculture to Social Justice and Empowerment, Manoj Kumar Jha from Railways to Labor, Shakti Singh Gohil from IT to Transport, Sasmit Patra from Education to Personnel Public Grievances, Abhishek Manu Singhvi from Defense to Home, Derek O'Brien from Transportation Home, Indubala Goswami from Health to Science and Technology Committee, Mausam Noor from Commerce to Water Resources and MC Mary Kom from Food to Urban Development have been made members.

However, many of these members had a good attendance record at the meetings of the previous committees. According to sources, the committees of nine members of BJP, six of Trinamool Congress, four of Congress, three each from Shiv Sena, CPI(M), RJD, YSRCP, two each from DMK, BJD, TRS and one member from other parties were changed. has gone. All three members of Shiv Sena will now be in the new committees.