Rajya Sabha Elections / Game played with BJP in Karnataka, MLA voted for Congress

Zoom News : Feb 27, 2024, 02:50 PM
Rajya Sabha Elections: Voting continues for Rajya Sabha elections. After UP, while there are reports of cross voting from Himachal Pradesh, now cross voting has taken place in Karnataka also. On rumors of cross-voting in the three states, BJP's Chief Whip in Karnataka Assembly Doddanagouda G.Patil says, "It has been confirmed that ST Somashekar has cross-voted. We are discussing what can be done and What action should be taken."

Amid apprehensions of cross-voting, elections for four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka are underway in Bengaluru on February 27. By afternoon, more than 112 MLAs, including Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, had cast their votes. The election results will be declared by the evening. Five candidates – Narayanasa K. Bhandge (BJP), G.C. Chandrashekhar, Ajay Maken and Syed Naseer Hussain (Congress), and Kupendra Reddy (Janata Dal-Secular) are in the fray for four seats.

Rajya Sabha candidate Syed Naseer Hussain, G.C. Chandrashekhar and L. Hanumanthaiya (Congress), and Rajeev Chandrashekhar (BJP) are retiring in April after completion of their terms.

Of the current strength of 223 members in the Karnataka Assembly (after the death of Surpur MLA Raja Venkatappa Naik), the Congress has 134 members, while the BJP has 66 and the JD(S) has 19 members. Latha Mallikarjuna (Harappanahalli) and K.H. Darshan Puttannaiya (Melukote) of Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha and G. of Karnataka Rajya Pragati Paksha. Janardhana Reddy (Gangavathi) along with Puttaswamy Gowda (Gouribidanur) are independents.

Meanwhile, despite the whip to BJP MLAs to vote for the BJP candidate, its member S.T. There are speculations that Somashekhar has cross-voted in favor of the Congress candidate by saying 'vote on conscience'. He was one of those MLAs whose activities were closely monitored. Before casting his vote, he had said that till now no candidate has approached him for vote and he will vote for the candidate who will fund the development works in Yeshwantpur assembly constituency.

Other members attracting attention are former minister and BJP member Shivaram Hebbar from Yellapura and Janata Dal (Secular) member Sharanagouda Kandakur from Gurmitkal. Kandakur told media persons that although it was true that there was a misunderstanding, he had spoken to former Chief Minister H.D. He voted for the JD(S) candidate after being supported by party leaders including.

Siddaramaiah had accused the BJP and Janata Dal (Secular) of luring and threatening Congress MLAs to vote for their candidate. He said there was no need for cross-voting due to the support of the 134-member Congress and four more MLAs, including two independents. “JD(S) with 19 members did not need to field its candidate. Our MLAs were given inducements and threats. So, we decided that all the MLAs will stay together,” he said, justifying the party's decision to keep its MLAs in a hotel in Bengaluru.

Party sources claimed that attempts were made by the BJP-JD(S) to reach out to at least 40 Congress MLAs to seek votes in favor of Kupendra Reddy. Transport Minister Ramalinga Reddy said, “There was an extensive discussion at the Congress Legislature Party meeting on the threats and inducements being given to Congress MLAs,” but did not elaborate.