World Cup 2023 / Host team announced squad for World Cup, ICC gave update on dates of matches

Zoom News : Jun 03, 2023, 08:03 AM
World Cup 2023: The World Cup of ODI format is played every four years. It was organized in England in the year 2019. Now in the year 2023, India has a chance to host this mega event. Eight teams have already qualified for the main round from this tournament. And the qualifier round will be played for the remaining two spots. A total of 10 teams including former champions Sri Lanka and West Indies will participate in this round, out of which two will get entry in the main round. The country hosting the qualifiers round has now announced its team. After this, the ICC has also given the date of the qualifier round along with the squad information of eight out of 10 teams.

According to the news shared by the ICC, the qualifiers round will start from June 18 and will run till July 9. And Zimbabwe will be the host nation for this round. Zimbabwe Cricket Board is the eighth country to announce its squad for this round. At the same time, the squad of Sri Lanka and UAE has not been announced yet. The main round of the World Cup will be played in October-November. Its possible date is being told as October 5 and the final on November 14. But no official update has come out regarding this yet.

Which two teams will get entry in the main round?

Let us tell you that 10 teams have been divided into two groups A and B for the qualifiers round. Teams from Nepal, Netherlands, US, West Indies and Zimbabwe are present in Group A. Whereas Ireland, Oman, Scotland, UAE and Sri Lanka are in Group B. The teams in each group will play every other team in their group. In the end, the top teams from both the groups will advance to the main round. That is, for example, suppose West Indies tops Group A and Sri Lanka in Group B, then both these teams will reach the main round. India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are already present in the main round.

15 member squad of Zimbabwe team

Craig Irvine (captain), Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Brad Evans, Tadivanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia, Luke Jongwe, Joylard Gumby, Clive Madande, Wesley Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Mujarbani, Richard Ngarawa, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams.