Cricket / ICC Men's ODI Team of the Decade announced, MS Dhoni named captain

Zoom News : Dec 27, 2020, 05:56 PM
Cricket Desk: Aspecial broadcast show revealing the winners on all ICC Digital Channels as well as the Star Sports Network is planned on Monday, 28th December at 12:30 PM GST/2 PM IST.

The winners of the prestigious ICC Awards of the Decade including the Rachel Heyhoe-Flint for Best Female Player and Sir Garfield Sobers for Best Male Player, will be announced simultaneously across all ICC Digital channels, including a live broadcast on Facebook and YouTube, as well as on the Star Sports Network, on Monday, December 28 at 12:30 PM GST/2:00 PM IST. 

The ICC Awards of the Decade show, comprised of members of the voting panel, will be hosted by Alan Wilkins, and will feature former international stars Shaun Pollock and Lisa Sthalekar, who will be joined by senior journalist Sharda Ugra and Tim Cutler, founder of Emerging Cricket, while the Star Sports show will be hosted by Jatin Sapru. 

The winners of all the individual awards will receive a unique artwork created in a collaboration between the ICC, Mumbai-based studio Kulture Shop and Indian artist Pratap Chalke. The Rachel Heyhoe-Flint and Sir Garfield Sobers winners get a spectacular hand-painted artwork bat, while the other individual award winners will receive a limited-edition canvas painting that captures their unique passion and spirit.

“We wanted to present the winners with truly memorable awards that captured the personality of these icons of the game. It’s been fantastic to work with Chalke and the team at Kulture Shop to bring this vision to life in such a bold, impactful way,” said Finn Bradshaw, Head of Digital at the ICC.

Fans will also be able to download the winners’ artworks from the ICC website following the announcement to use as wallpaper on their phone or social media account. 

The ICC Awards of The Decade that recognise the best players across Cricket over the past 10 years, invited fans to vote for the first time by selecting the winners across categories including the Sir Garfield Sobers and Rachael Heyhoe Flint Awards, which celebrate the best overall player from the men’s and women’s game over the past decade. Fans will provide 100% of the vote for the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade, from a list of the past winners since 2011. More than 1.5 million fans from across the globe participated casting 5.3 million votes.

The top prize for voters is a once in a lifetime experience at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in India, including flights, accommodation, and pitch-side access to a Super 12s match. Other prizes include 45 pairs of match tickets, 15 OPPO Reno 4pro mobile phones and 50 $50 vouchers redeemable at the official T20 World Cup merchandise shop at the tournament.

The nominees for each of the categories have been determined by the Awards Nominations Committee according to on-field performances and overall achievements for at least five years during the period.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade – The best overall performer in men’s ODI cricket during the performance period:

MS Dhoni (India)

Virat Kohli (India)

Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Rohit Sharma (India)

Mitchell Starc (Australia)

AB de Villiers (South Africa)