KKR vs SRH / Kolkata lifted IPL title for the third time - defeated SRH by 8 wickets

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 26, 2024, 10:28 PM
SRH vs KKR: Kolkata Knight Riders have won the title of IPL-2024. The team defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets in the final match. Kolkata team has become champion in this league for the third time. The team has won the title after 10 years. Last time Kolkata became champion in 2014.

On Sunday, Hyderabad won the toss and chose to bat at Chepauk ground and were all out for 113 runs in 18.3 overs. Kolkata achieved the target of 114 runs for 2 wickets in 10.3 overs. Venkatesh Iyer played an unbeaten inning of 52 runs on 26 balls. Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored 39 runs on 32 balls. Andre Russell took 3 wickets in bowling.

Winning run came from Venkatesh's bat

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the current season of IPL. The team defeated Hyderabad by 8 wickets. Kolkata achieved the target of 114 runs in 10.3 overs. Venkatesh Iyer scored the winning run on the third ball of Shahbaz's over.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz was out after scoring 39 runs. He was given LBW by Shahbaz Ahmed. Sunil Narine (6 runs) was dismissed by Pat Cummins.

Earlier, Kolkata got an easy target of 114 on Sunday at Chepauk Stadium in Chennai. This is the lowest score in the IPL final, before this, in the 2017 season, Mumbai had scored 129 runs in the first innings against Rising Pune Super Giants.

Hyderabad won the toss and chose to bat against Kolkata. Like Qualifier-1, Kolkata's pacers put Hyderabad's batsmen on the backfoot in the beginning.

Starc (2 wickets) provided the break through from the very first over. Kolkata used 6 bowlers and took 5 wickets. Andre Russell took 3 wickets. Aidan Markram (20 runs) scored the most runs for Hyderabad.

Hyderabad gave a target of 114 runs to Kolkata

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Hyderabad team scored only 113 runs for 10 wickets in 18.3 overs. This is the lowest score in IPL history. Earlier in 2013, Mumbai had given a target of 149 runs to Chennai, in response to which Chennai could score only 125 runs. The team started with a shock. Abhishek Sharma two runs and Travis Head returned to the pavilion without opening the account. In this match, Hyderabad's batting order collapsed against the Kolkata bowlers. Rahul Tripathi scored nine, Aiden Markram scored 20, Nitish Kumar Reddy scored 13, Heinrich Klaasen scored 16, Shahbaz Ahmed scored eight, Abdul Samad scored four, Pat Cummins scored 24, Jaydev Undakat scored four runs. Whereas, Bhuvneshwar Kumar remained unbeaten without opening the account. For Kolkata, Andre Russell took three wickets while Starc and Harshit Rana got two wickets each. Apart from this, Vaibhav Arora, Sunil Narine and Varun Chakraborty got one wicket each.