IPL 2021 / Rahul Tripathis six gave Kolkata the final ticket Delhi out of the race

Zoom News : Oct 13, 2021, 11:29 PM
Kolkata in the final with Tripathi's six

There was a lot of ups and downs in the Qualifier 2 match. Sometimes the match was seen going in Delhi's bag and sometimes in Kolkata's bag. Kolkata needed 7 runs in the last over. The first run was made on the first ball. But after this, his 2 wickets fell in making 6 runs. Thought the match would be blown away by Delhi. But Rahul Tripathi once again became the trump card for KKR. And, got the victory with sixes.

KKR got off to a strong start

Chasing the target, Kolkata got off to a great start. Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer added 96 runs in 12.2 overs for the first wicket. At one point it seemed that the same pair would come out of the field after finishing the match, but this partnership was broken by Kagiso Rabada by dismissing Iyer (55). After this, Enrique Nortya got the second blow to KKR by dismissing Nitish Rana (13). In the very next over, Avesh Khan gave Delhi the third breakthrough by dismissing Shubman Gill (46).

  • This is the third time that Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer have added 50+ runs in IPL 14.
  • Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer added 96 runs for the first wicket.
  • Venkatesh Iyer (55) This was his third fifty in the IPL.
  • Dinesh Karthik got out for the 12th time (0) in the IPL.
Delhi's respectable score

Playing first after losing the toss, Delhi got off to a bad start. In the 5th over, Varun Chakraborty got the first breakthrough for KKR by dismissing Prithvi Shaw (18). Marcus Stoinis (18), who returned to the playing XI after a long time, returned to the pavilion after being bowled by Shivam Mavi. The wicket of Shikhar Dhawan (36), who had caught his eye, also came in Chakraborty's account. Captain Pant (6) was caught by Lockie Fergus while Shimron Hetmyer (17) was run out. Delhi scored 135/5 in 20 overs.

  • Till the powerplay, Delhi's score was 38/1.
  • Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan added 32 runs for the first wicket.
  • Till the first ten overs, Delhi's score was 65 runs for the loss of 1 wicket.
  • Dhawan and Marcus Stoinis added 39 runs in 44 balls for the second wicket.
  • Shreyas Iyer played an unbeaten innings of 27 balls (30).
Big drama in the 17th over

During the 17th over of Delhi's innings, Shimron Hetmyer was caught by Varun Chakravarthy. After Hetmyer was given out, the umpire took a review to check the no-ball and Chakraborty's foot was seen outside the line. Shimron Hetmyer got a big life on the score of (3) due to a no-ball later.

who will reach the final

Delhi's team is the finalist of last season, while Kolkata has performed strongly in Phase-2 of this season. The winning team of this match will take on Chennai in the final match to be held on October 15.

KKR have won 6 out of 8 matches

Kolkata team is performing well in Phase 2. He has won 6 out of 8 matches. In the clash with Delhi on 28 September, KKR won by three wickets.

Delhi has lost its first chance to reach the final

Delhi's team has done well this season overall and finished at No. 1 in the points table after the league matches, but Delhi have missed out on a chance to make it to the finals. They had to face defeat by 4 wickets in Qualifier 1 against Chennai Super Kings. In that match, Chennai captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni broke Delhi's heart by scoring hat-trick fours in the last over.

Stoinis back - Russell out again

All-rounder Marcus Stoinis has seen the return of Delhi's playing XI. Stoinis had suffered a hamstring strain while bowling in the first match for Delhi in Phase-2, due to which he was ruled out of 6 matches, but today he is back in the playing XI.

On the other hand, KKR's star all-rounder Andre Russell could not make it to the playing XI even today due to poor fitness. This is the sixth consecutive match when Russell could not make an entry in the playing XI. Shakib Al Hasan was given a chance in his place in the team.

both teams

DC - Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (w/c), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Anrique Nortya

KKR - Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Oen Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakraborty