Asia Cup Final / Team India won the Asia Cup trophy for the record 8th time - defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets

Zoom News : Sep 17, 2023, 06:40 PM
Asia Cup Final: Team India has won the Asia Cup title for the 8th time. India defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the final match played at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. This is India's biggest win in terms of balls remaining at the end of the match. The team won with 263 balls remaining. Earlier, Team India had defeated Kenya in 2001 with 231 balls to spare. In the final match, the Sri Lankan team, after winning the toss and batting, was all out for 50 runs in 15.2 overs. In reply, Team India won by scoring 51 runs in 6.1 overs. India has also improved its record of chasing the target by playing the least number of balls. Team India won the match after playing only 37 balls in batting. The previous record was of 69 balls. India defeated Kenya in 2001 by playing this many balls.

Hero of victory

Mohammed Siraj: Took 6 wickets. Mohammed Siraj bowled brilliantly in the very first spell. He showed the path to the pavilion to 6 Sri Lankan batsmen in his first 16 balls.

Hardik Pandya: After Siraj, Hardik Pandya played an important role in restricting the Sri Lankan team to 50 runs. He took 3 wickets of the last batsmen.

The Indian captain made changes in the opening pair of Gill-Ishaan to chase the small target of 51. He sent Ishan Kishan to open in his place. Both of them gave a fast start to the team.

Sri Lankan innings from here...

Sri Lanka all out for 50 runs, lowest score by any team against India

After winning the toss and opting to bat, the Sri Lankan team was all out for 50 runs. This is the lowest score of any team against India.

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first. Indian bowlers sent Sri Lankan batsmen back to the pavilion in 15.2 overs.

Mohammed Siraj took 6 wickets, while Hardik Pandya took 3 wickets. One success came to Jasprit Bumrah.

Sri Lanka broke Bangladesh's record

This is the lowest score of any team in ODI against India. Earlier, Bangladesh had the lowest score against India in ODI. Bangladesh team was all out for 58 runs in 2014. Zimbabwe holds the record for lowest overall score in ODI. Zimbabwe team was all out for 35 runs against Sri Lanka in 2004.

No Sri Lankan batsman crossed 20

Sri Lankan batsmen were seen struggling against the Indian fast bowlers. No batsman of the team could cross the 20 mark. Kusal Mendis played the highest innings of 17 runs, while Dushan Hemanth scored 13 runs.

Powerplay: Sri Lankan innings wobbles

The Sri Lankan innings faltered in the powerplay. The team lost 6 wickets for 33 runs in 10 overs. Siraj took 5 wickets and Bumrah took one wicket. The situation was such that no batsman of the team could reach double digits.

Siraj equaled Chaminda Vaas' record

Mohammad Siraj has equaled the world record of taking 5 wickets in the fewest number of balls in ODI cricket. Siraj took 16 balls for 5 wickets. Chaminda Vaas of Sri Lanka took 5 wickets in 16 balls against Bangladesh in 2003.

Sri Lanka lost 6 wickets for 16 runs

The Sri Lankan team, which came to play first, had a bad start. The team has lost the sixth wicket on the score of just 12 runs. Opener Kusal Perera, captain Dasun Shanaka, Sadira Samarawickrama and Charith Asalanka were out on zero, while Pathum Nsanka scored 2 and De Silva returned to the pavilion after scoring 4 runs.

This is how Sri Lanka's wickets fell

First: (Kusal Perera- 0 Run): Jasprit Bumrah got caught by wicketkeeper KL Rahul on the third ball of the first over.

Second: (Pathum Nissanka- 2 runs): Siraj got caught by Jadeja on the first ball of the fourth over. Jadeja took a brilliant catch at point.

Third: (Sadeera Samarawickrama – 0 Run): Siraj bowled the third ball of the fourth over.

Fourth: (Charith Asalanka- 0 Run): Siraj got caught by Ishan Kishan on the fourth ball of the fourth over.

Fifth: (Dhananjay de Silva - 4 runs): Siraj got caught by KL Rahul on the last ball of the fourth over.

Sixth: (Dasun Shanaka – 0 runs): Siraj bowled the fourth ball of the sixth over.

Seventh: (Kusal Mendis- 17 runs): Siraj bowled the second ball of the 12th over.

Eighth: (Dunith Vellalage - 8 runs): On the third ball of the 13th over, Hardik Pandya got Vellalage caught by KL Rahul.

Playing-11 of both the teams

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadira Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjay de Silva, Dunith Vellage, Dushan Hemanth, Mathish Pathirana and Kasun Rajitha.

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.