Cricket / Team India's playing XI announced a day before first Test against Australia

Zoom News : Dec 16, 2020, 02:41 PM
Cricket Desk: Two cricketing superpowers India and Australia will be locking horns against each other in the highly-anticipated four-match Border Gavaskar Trophy, starting from December 17 in Adelaide. Ahead of the marquee first pink-ball Test, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) released India’s playing XI for the Adelaide Test.

The captain and the selectors refrained from making any substantial changes in the playing XI and went with their regular team. India’s regular opening duo in Tests comprising Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw will open the innings for the visitors. This was a surprising call from the management as many felt that Shubman Gill or KL Rahul might get a chance ahead of Shaw.

Prithvi didn’t seem to be at his fluent best in the two practice games that India played against Australia A as he registered the scores of 0, 19, 40 and 3 across four innings. However, the team showed trust in the youngster and is giving him another chance to prove himself on the big stage. Undoubtedly, Cheteshwar Pujara will come to bat at number 3 batting slot for the visitors in the day-night game.

Ravichandran Ashwin is the only spinner in the team

There are no changes in India’s middle-order as well. While Virat Kohli will don the captaincy hat and will come to bat at number 4, he will be followed by vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, and Hanuma Vihari. Despite a stellar show produced by young Rishabh Pant in the second practice game where he smashed a scintillating 103 runs off 73 deliveries, selectors showed faith in Wriddhiman Saha for essaying the role of the wicketkeeper for the team.

Ravichandran Ashwin is the only spinner in the line-up as both Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja will warm the bench. It is no surprise that pacers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav made it to India’s playing XI against Australia for the first Test.

Both Bumrah and Shami had played a remarkable role in India’s historic victory in the Border Gavaskar Trophy in 2018-19 on the Australian soil. The team will expect the pacers to repeat their heroics with the ball so that they can start the series on a high.

India’s playing XI: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.