IND vs WI / West Indies once again..., winning two T20s in a row, leading the Windies series

Vikrant Shekhawat : Aug 06, 2023, 11:50 PM
IND vs WI: The Indian team has gone 2-0 down in the T20I series against the West Indies. The team was defeated by the Caribbeans by 8 wickets in the second T20 match. For the first time in the history of T20 cricket, West Indies have won two consecutive matches to take a 2-0 lead in the series. Batting first after winning the toss, India scored 152 for 7 in 20 overs at the Providence Stadium in Guyana on Sunday. In response, the West Indies team won by 8 wickets in 18.4 overs.

West Indies wickets fell like this

1st: Brandon King (0 Run) - Pandya bowled the first ball of the first over on top length, which was going outside off. Suryakumar Yadav took a wonderful catch on this.

Second: Johnson Charles (2 runs) - Pandya bowled the fourth ball of the first over after off stump at a good length, which Charles hit near Tilak Verma standing at cover point in an attempt to play. Tilak did not make any mistake in catching the catch.

Third: Kyle Meyers (15 runs) - Arshdeep made Meyers LBW on the fourth ball of the fourth over. He bowled a length ball on the middle-leg stump. The ball hit the pad. After DRS, the third umpire gave out on umpire's call.

Fourth: Rovman Powell (21 runs) – Pandya bowled the 5th ball of the 10th over outside the off stump. Powell wanted to play this bouncy ball in the off and was caught by Mukesh Kumar in the deep third man boundary.

Fifth: Nicholas Pooran (67 runs) - Nicholas Pooran was dismissed on the last ball of the 14th over. He was caught by Mukesh Kumar at the hands of Sanju Samson.

Sixth: Romariae Shepherd (0 run) – Runout on the first ball of the 15th over. Got out trying to take another run.

Seventh: Jason Holder (0 run) - On the fourth ball of the 16th over, Chahal's ball was stumped by Ishaan Kishan.

Eighth: Shimron Hetmyer (22 runs) - On the last ball of the 16th over, Chahal overturned the match by LBWing Hetmyer.

Pooran-Powell's half-century partnership

After losing the first three wickets for 32 runs, wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran shared a 37-ball 57-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Rovman Powell. Captain Pandya broke this partnership. He dismissed Powell.

Windies top order also failed

The top order of the Windies team chasing the target of 152 runs also failed. The team had lost the first three wickets for 32 runs, although the Caribbean's run rate did not decrease. In the first 6 overs, the team scored 61 runs for 3 wickets. She was ahead of India in terms of scoring more runs in Powerplay.

Tilak's first fifty, India gave a target of 153 runs

Batting first after winning the toss, Team India scored 152 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. Young batsman Tilak Verma scored the first half-century of his career. He played an inning of 51 runs on 41 balls. Ishaan Kishan contributed 27 and wicketkeeper Sanju Samson contributed 24 runs.

Akil Hussain, Alzarri Joseph and Romario Shepherd got two wickets each.

First Fifty of Tilak Verma

Amidst falling wickets, young batsman Tilak Verma scored his first career fifty. He scored 51 runs in 41 balls at a strike rate of 124.39. Tilak had played an important inning of 39 runs in the first T20 match.

Alzarri Joseph's 100 wickets

Fast bowler Alzarri Joseph dismissed two of India's batsmen. He gave way to the pavilion to Shubman Gill and captain Hardik Pandya. Joseph took the 100th wicket of his T20 career.

Bad start for India

The Indian openers failed to give a good start to the team. The team lost the wicket of Shubman Gill for 16 runs. In the powerplay of 6 overs, India scored 34 runs for two wickets. Ishaan and Tilak Verma remained unbeaten.

This is how India's wickets fell

First: Shubman Gill (7 runs) – Alzarri Joseph bowled the 5th ball of the second over on a good length, which took the outside edge of the bat and went in the direction of the third man. Hetmyer caught.

Second: Suryakumar Yadav (1 run) – Ishaan Kishan played the third ball of the fourth over towards square leg, on which non-strike end batsman Suryakumar came out of the crease. Kyle Meyers quickly caught the ball and threw a non-strike, which hit the stumps. Till then Surya could not reach the crease.

Third: Ishaan Kishan (27 runs) - bowled on the fourth ball of the 10th over. Romario Shepherd bowls this ball back of length, coming out with an angle, Ishaan fails to grasp the ball and the ball flies past the off stump.

Fourth: Sanju Samson (7 runs) - Akil Hussain placed the second ball of the 12th over at short length near the off stump. Samson wanted to go ahead and hit it, but could not guess the speed correctly and missed it. In such a situation, wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran took advantage of the opportunity and stumped him.

Fifth: Tilak Verma (51 runs) - Hussain bowled the 5th ball of the 16th over on the middle stump at short length, on which Tilak wanted to hit big, but could not cross the ball and was caught by McCoy at fine leg. Happened.

Sixth: Hardik Pandya (24 runs) - On the last ball of the 18th over, Alzarri Joseph bowled Pandya on a brilliant yorker.

Seventh: Akshar Patel (14 runs) – got out on the first ball of the 19th over. Romario Shepherd bowled a short ball, which took the top edge of the bat and stood above the crease. Wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran caught it easily.

Both teams face to face after 4 years

Both the teams are face to face after 4 years. Earlier, in the year 2019, both the teams clashed at this ground. In this match, India will have a chance to draw 1-1 in the series. In the first match, West Indies won by 4 runs.

Playing XI of both the teams

West Indies: Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Johnson Charles, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Rovman Powell (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Akil Hossain, Alzarri Joseph and Obed McCoy.

India: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Hardik Pandya (c), Sanju Samson, Akshar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar and Ravi Bishnoi.