WPL 2024 Final / Bangalore became WPL champion for the first time, defeated Delhi by 8 wickets in the final

Zoom News : Mar 17, 2024, 11:25 PM
WPL 2024 Final: The champion of the Women's Premier League 2024 has been found. This time Royal Challengers Bangalore has been successful in winning the WPL title. Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Delhi Capitals team in the final match. This match between the two teams was played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. In this match, the bowlers of Royal Challengers Bangalore performed amazingly and then the batsmen took them to the trophy.

Royal Challengers Bangalore team became champion

In this match, Delhi Capitals captain Meg Lanning won the toss and decided to bat first. Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma were also successful in giving a good start to the team. But after this no batsman could stay on the crease. After a good start, Delhi Capitals were all out after scoring 113 runs in 18.3 overs due to poor performance of the batsmen in front of the spinners of Royal Challengers Bangalore. After this, RCB chased this target and won the title.

Shreyanka Patil-Sophie Molineau took a flurry of wickets

21 year old Shreyanka Patil was the most successful bowler in this match. He took four wickets for 12 runs in 3.3 overs. Apart from Shreyanka Patil, Sophie Molineau also bowled amazingly. He took 3 wickets for 20 runs in 4 overs. The special thing was that Sophie Molineau took all three wickets in a single over.

RCB achieved the target at the loss of 2 wickets

Royal Challengers Bangalore achieved the target of 114 runs at the loss of 2 wickets. Captain Smriti Mandhana gave a good start to the team and scored 31 runs. Whereas, Sophie Devine played an inning of 32 runs. After this Alice Perry led the team to victory. Ellyse Perry played an unbeaten inning of 35 runs. Whereas, Richa Ghosh scored unbeaten 17 runs.

First win against Delhi Capitals

Royal Challengers Bangalore needed to change the history of the Women's Premier League to win this final match and they did just that. Actually, earlier 4 matches were played between the two teams in the Women's Premier League. Delhi Capitals team had won in all these matches. In such a situation, Delhi Capitals had the upper hand in this match also. But RCB changed all the statistics by winning this match.