Business / Banks to remain closed for a total of 15 days in August 2021

Zoom News : Jul 29, 2021, 03:06 PM
New Delhi: If you are planning to visit bank branch for any work next month, note that banks will remain closed for 15 days in August. Before visiting your bank branch, check the list of important bank holidays. As per RBI calendar, apart from weekends, there are a total of eight holidays in the month of August 2021.

For the uninitiated, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) categorises bank holidays in India into three categories: Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday and Banks' Closing of Accounts. As a consequence, we will witness a variety of holidays in August as a result of numerous festivals under the Negotiable Instruments Act.

It must be noted that the bank holidays vary in various states as well not observed by all the banking companies. Banking holidays also depend on the festivals being observed in specific states or notification of specific occasions in those states.

The month of August begins with a holiday as August 1 is Sunday and banks will remain closed. Apart from the second Saturday, fourth Saturday, and Sunday, there are a total of eight holidays in the month of August. On 15th August 2021, (Sunday) there will be a holiday due to Sunday and also Independence Day. 

Here is the complete list of bank holidays in August:

August 13: Patriot’s Day

August 16: Parse New Year

August 19: Muharram (Ashoora)

August 20: Muharram/First Onam

August 21: Thiruvonam

August 23: Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi

August 30: Janmashtami (Shravan Vad-8)/Krishna Jayanthi:

August 31: Sri Krishna Ashtami

The Parse New Year (Shahenshahi) celebrated on August 16, 2021 will also be a bank holiday in Belapur, Mumbai, and Nagpur. There will be a bank holiday on August 19, 2021, in Agartala, Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bhopal, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, and Srinagar due to Muharram (Ashoora).

Apart from the above bank holidays, the second and fourth Saturdays are falling on the following dates:

August 1: Sunday

August 8: Sunday

August 14: Second Saturday

August 15: Sunday

August 22: Sunday

August 28: Fourth Saturday

August 29: Sunday

Holidays will be observed in various regions according to the state declared holidays, however for the gazetted holidays, banks will be closed all over the country. While offline banking operations will remain closed on the specified dates, online banking activities will continue to work. If you keep a track of these bank holidays, you would be able to plan bank transaction activities in a better way.