Bank Holidays / Banks will remain closed in 49 cities of 8 states on Monday, this is the big reason

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 19, 2024, 08:33 AM
Bank Holidays: Banks are going to remain closed in 49 cities of 8 states of the country on Monday. Yes, on Monday i.e. 20th May, voting for the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024 will be held in these parts of the country. Due to which banks have been ordered to remain closed in these cities. These states include states like Bihar, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh. However, according to the RBI bank holiday list, banks will remain closed in Mumbai, Lucknow, Belapur for the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections. Let us also tell you in which states and cities banks are going to remain closed on May 20. So that you do not face any kind of problem.

Banks will remain closed in these states

  • Bihar
  • Jharkhand
  • Maharashtra
  • Odisha,
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • West Bengal,
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Ladakh
Maharashtra government gave this order

Maharashtra government has given a big order in view of the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Maharashtra government has even issued a circular for this. According to the government circular, workers, officers, employees and persons living in the areas of Maharashtra where voting is to be held, who are voters, will be given paid leave. This means that their salary will not be deducted for this leave.

Bank holidays in may

In the month of May, holidays like Maharashtra Day, Labor Day, Lok Sabha General Election 2024, Rabindranath Tagore's Birthday, Basava Jayanti/Akshay Tritiya, Lok Sabha General Election 2024, State Day, Buddha Purnima and Nazrul Jayanti etc. are falling. Many holidays have already passed in different parts of the country. By the way, the festival of Buddha Purnima is on 23rd May. There will be a holiday in many parts of the country on this day. Apart from the Lok Sabha elections, 25th May is also Nazrul Jayanti in many parts of the country.

Bank holiday will remain for two more days

23 May - Buddha Purnima (Thursday) - Banks are closed in Tripura, Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Chandigarh, Uttar Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu, Lucknow, Bengal, New Delhi, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Srinagar.

25 May – Nazrul Jayanti/Lok Sabha General Election 2024 (4th Saturday) – Banks are closed in Tripura, Orissa.

RBI holidays are divided into three categories. Which includes Negotiable Instruments Act, Holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement Holidays and Bank Closing Accounts.