IPL 2021 / De Villiers attempt failed Hyderabad beat RCB by 4 runs in a thrilling match

Zoom News : Oct 06, 2021, 11:23 PM
Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the match played on Wednesday at Abu Dhabi ground in IPL 2021. SRH won this match by 4 runs. RCB won the toss in the match and put SRH to bat first. Hyderabad team scored 141 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. In reply, chasing a target of 142 runs, RCB could only manage 137 for 6 in 20 overs. Bangalore needed 6 runs off the last ball to win. But, he could score only 2 runs.

Bad start for Bangalore

RCB's first wicket fell in the form of captain Kohli (5). His wicket was taken by Bhuvneshwar Kumar on the last ball of the first over. After Kohli, Daniel Christian (1) also could not perform anything special. Bengaluru got the third blow in the form of Srikar Bharat (12). Kane Williamson got the fourth breakthrough for SRH by running out Maxwell (40).

  • Till the powerplay, RCB's score was 37 runs for the loss of 2 wickets.
  • In the fourth over of RCB's innings, Siddharth Kaul took 1 wicket without giving any runs.
  • Umran Malik took his first IPL wicket in the form of Shrikar Bharat.
  • Glenn Maxwell and Devdutt Padikkal put on 54 runs in 44 balls for the fourth wicket.
  • Hyderabad disappointed again
Playing first, SRH did not start well and in the second over, Abhishek Sharma (13) gave his wicket to George Garten. RCB got the second success Harshal Patel bowled Kane Williamson (31). Half of the Hyderabad team had returned to the pavilion after scoring just 107 runs. In the game of 20 overs, the team could only make a score of 141/7.

  • Jason Roy and Abhishek Sharma came for the opening for Hyderabad.
  • Roy and Kane Williamson added 70 runs in 58 balls for the second wicket.
  • Daniel Christian picked up the wickets of Priyam Garg (15) and Jason Roy (44) in the same over.
  • Wriddhiman Saha (10), Abdul Samad (1) and Jason Holder (16) were dismissed.
  • For RCB, Harshal Patel took 3 wickets and Daniel Christian took 2 wickets.
Harshal came out ahead

Harshal Patel took 3 wickets in the match while bowling brilliantly. Patel has so far taken 29 wickets this season. This is the most wickets taken by an uncapped player in any single season. Along with this, Harshal Patel has also become the highest wicket-taker for India in a season. Before him, Jasprit Bumrah (27) in IPL 13 and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26) in 2017 took wickets.

RCB eyes on top-2

Phase-2 has now come to its last stage. Top 3 teams have been found for the play-offs. Virat Kohli's RCB is also in these teams. Today against SRH Bengaluru would like to win at any cost. If Bengaluru wins this match, then they will come closer to finishing in the top-2 in the points table.

16 points in 12 matches for Bengaluru

At present, Bengaluru has 16 points from 12 matches. At the same time, apart from Hyderabad, Bengaluru will also play against Delhi. If Bengaluru wins both these matches, then it will also get 20 points. If her run-rate is good, she can also finish in the top-2.

Once again Bengaluru will have to start well against Hyderabad. For this, the captain of the team Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal will have to add color with their bat. Both the players are in terrific form this season.

Maxwell is in form, de Villiers has disappointed

At the same time, Glenn Maxwell is doing wonders with the bat in the middle order, as well as performing well with the ball when needed. His innings of 57 runs in 33 balls against Punjab got the team back in the match. While the form of AB de Villiers remains a matter of concern for the team. Not a single half-century has come off his bat in Phase 2.

At the same time, if we talk about the bowling of the team, then Harshal Patel, Mohammad Siraj are proving to be the trump card for Bengaluru in fast bowling. At the same time, Yuzvendra Chahal and Shahbaz Ahmed are handling the spin department well.

Hyderabad has nothing to lose

If we talk about Sunrisers Hyderabad, then this team has nothing to lose. The team is already out of the play-offs. In Phase-2, Hyderabad team has played five matches. In these, the team has got the only victory against Rajasthan Royals. Hyderabad would like to end the IPL 2021 season on a good note with two consecutive wins against Bengaluru.

both teams

RCB - Virat Kohli (capt), Devdutt Padikkal, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Daniel Christian, Shahbaz Ahmed, Srikar Bharat (wk), George Garten, Harshal Patel, Mohammad Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

SRH - Jason Roy, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul, Umran Malik