Chhattisgarh Politics / Former CM Raman Singh elected speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly, Congress also supported

Zoom News : Dec 19, 2023, 06:20 PM
Chhattisgarh Politics: In Chhattisgarh, senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA and former Chief Minister Raman Singh has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of the state assembly. With this, the first session of the newly elected House started on Tuesday. On the first day of the session today i.e. Tuesday, Protem Speaker (Protem Speaker) Ramvichar Netam administered the oath to the MLAs of BJP and Congress and an MLA of Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP). Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai, Leader of Opposition Charandas Mahanta, Deputy Chief Ministers Arun Sao and Vijay Sharma, former Chief Ministers Raman Singh and Bhupesh Baghel were among the MLAs who were administered the oath by the 'Protem Speaker'.

Congress also supported Raman Singh

After the swearing in of the MLAs, the election of the Speaker of the Sixth Assembly of Chhattisgarh took place. Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai proposed to elect Raman Singh as the Assembly Speaker, which was seconded by Deputy Chief Minister Arun Sao. Leader of the opposition Charandas Mahanta also proposed electing Singh as the Assembly Speaker, which was seconded by Bhupesh Baghel. Three more resolutions were moved by BJP members in favor of Singh. Raman Singh, a seven-time MLA, has won the Rajnandgaon seat four consecutive times in 2008, 2013, 2018 and 2023.

Raman Singh has also been a minister at the Center

In 1999 he was elected once as a Lok Sabha member and was appointed as the Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. In the recently concluded assembly elections, Singh defeated Congress's Girish Dewangan by a margin of 45,084 votes. Singh is credited with taking Chhattisgarh on the path of development. He has earned the reputation of being an able administrator during his 15-year long political career (2003 to 2018). Last month, the BJP had contested the assembly elections in the state without declaring its chief ministerial face.

Was a contender for the post of CM

After winning the elections, Singh was considered a contender for the post of Chief Minister, but the party handed over the command of the state to senior tribal leader Vishnudev Sai. Congress had to face defeat in the assembly elections. BJP has returned to power in the state after a gap of five years by winning 54 out of 90 seats, while Congress, which had won 68 seats in 2018, was reduced to 35 seats. Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP) has managed to win one seat.