IND vs AUS / Gaikwad's century pales in front of Maxwell - Australia wins by 5 wickets

Zoom News : Nov 28, 2023, 10:56 PM
IND vs AUS: On the basis of Glenn Maxwell's century, Australia has defeated India by 5 wickets in the third match of the T-20 series. With this the team has made a comeback 2-1 in the 5-match series. The fourth match of the series will be played in Raipur on December 1. Australia won the toss and decided to bowl at Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati. Team India, who came to bat first, scored 222 runs for 3 wickets in 20 overs. Australia achieved the target of 223 runs with the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs. The team won by scoring 43 runs in the last 2 overs.

Glenn Maxwell played an explosive inning of 104 runs on 48 balls. He hit 8 fours and 8 sixes. Captain Matthew Wade remained unbeaten after scoring 28 runs on 16 balls. Travis Head scored 35 runs on 18 balls.

Australian openers returned to the pavilion in the powerplay, Avesh and Arsh took one wicket each.

Kangaroo openers made a fast start to chase the target of 223 runs. The team scored 46 runs without any loss in the first 4 overs. Arshdeep Singh in the 5th over and Avesh Khan in the 6th over gave India one success each.

Arshdeep dismissed Aaron Hardy and Avesh dismissed Travis Head. Australia's score after 6 overs was 67/2.

India scored 222/3, Gaikwad scored a century

Batting after losing the toss, the Indian team scored 222 runs for 3 wickets in 20 overs at Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati on Tuesday. 30 runs were scored in the last over of the innings.

Opener Rituraj Gaikwad played an innings of 123 runs on 57 balls. He scored the first century of his T-20 career. Gaikwad completed his century with a six. Gaikwad hit 13 fours and 7 sixes in his innings. Tilak Verma remained unbeaten on 31 runs, while captain Suryakumar Yadav played an inning of 39 runs.

India scored 74 runs in death overs

Indian batsmen scored 74 runs in death overs i.e. 17-20 overs. Australia's Jason Behrenoff was economical, giving away only 7 runs in the 17th over. After this, the pair of Tilak Verma and Gaikwad scored 25 runs in Aaron Hardy's over. In the last over, Gaikwad batted brilliantly against Maxwell and scored 30 runs and also completed his first century. There was a partnership of 141 runs between Gaikwad and Verma. Maxwell's over was the most expensive over for Australia in T20 history. India scored 74 runs in the death overs without losing any wicket.

Ruturaj Gaikwad's half century in the middle overs

After the wickets of Ishan Kishan and Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav and Rituraj Gaikwad took over the innings in the middle overs. There was a partnership of 57 runs between the two. Suryakumar Yadav was out in the 11th over. From here Tilak Verma supported him. Gaikwad completed his half-century in the 14th over. In the middle overs, India scored 105 runs and lost 1 wicket.

Team India's slow batting in powerplay

The powerplay was average for Team India. Indian batsmen could score only 43 runs for 2 wickets in 6 overs. The opening pair of Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rituraj Gaikwad gave a fast start to the team and scored 14 runs in the very first over. After that, Behrendorff gave the first blow to Team India by dismissing Jaiswal (6 runs) in the second over of the innings. In the very next over, Kane Richardson sent Ishan Kishan back to the pavilion on zero. Here the Indian batsmen looked under pressure.

Playing-11 of both the teams

India: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna and Avesh Khan.

Australia: Matthew Wade (captain/wk), Travis Head, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Jason Behrendorff, Tanvir Sangha, Kane Richardson.