IPL Live 2020 / Punjab defeated Kolkata by 8 wickets

Zoom News : Oct 26, 2020, 11:00 PM
Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 8 wickets in the 46th match of the 13th season of IPL. This is Punjab's 5th consecutive win in the season. With this, she has reached the top-4 of the points table and maintains her play-off claim.

Batting after losing the toss in the match played in Sharjah, Kolkata gave Punjab a target of 150 runs. In response, Punjab won the match by scoring 150 runs at the loss of 2 wickets in 18.5 overs. Chris Gayle placed 30th in IPL and Mandeep Singh placed 6th. Gayle scored 51 runs. At the same time, Mandeep was not out after scoring 66 runs. Kolkata's Varun Chakraborty and Loki Ferguson got one wicket each.

Slow start of punjab

Captain Lokesh Rahul and Mandeep Singh played the game well, furthering the team's score. Both added 36 runs in the power-play. There was also a 47-run opening partnership between the two. Varun Chakraborty dismissed Rahul in the 8th over of the innings. He scored 28 runs off 25 balls.

Shubman's fifty, Kolkata scored 149 runs for 9 wickets before Shubman Gill made his 7th fifty in the IPL. Gill's innings of 57 runs. Apart from these, captain Eoin Morgan scored 40 and Loki Ferguson scored 24 not out. Kolkata scored 149 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs. At the same time, Mohammad Shami of Punjab got 3, Ravi Bishnoi and Chris Jordan got 2-2 wickets. Glenn Maxwell and Murugan Ashwin also got 1-1 wickets.

Kolkata's 3 wickets in the first 2 overs were very poor. Nitish Rana, the hero of the last match, could not even open the account and was dismissed on the second ball of the first over. Glenn Maxwell took his wicket. In the very next over, Rahul Tripathi (7) was shown the way to the pavilion by Mohammed Shami. In the same over, Dinesh Karthik (0) was also dismissed by Shami.

After an early 81-wicket partnership between Morgan-Gill, three wickets fell quickly, with Shubman Gill teaming up with captain Eoin Morgan to handle the innings. There was an 81-run partnership for the fourth wicket between the two. This partnership was broken by Ravi Bishnoi. Bishnoi catches Morgan (40) by Murugan Ashwin.

No change in both teams

Punjab opener batsman Mayank Agarwal and Kolkata all-rounder Andre Russell are not fully fit. In such a situation, both the teams have not made any change in the winning combination of their previous match.

Both teams: Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (captain, wicketkeeper), Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Puran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami and Arshdeep Singh.

Kolkata: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Eoin Morgan (captain), Sunil Naren, Pat Cummins, Loki Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagerkoti, Eminent Krishna and Varun Chakraborty.