Team India Selection / Team India announced for West Indies tour, know 5 big things about selection

Zoom News : Jun 23, 2023, 06:15 PM
Team India Selection: The Indian cricket team has to go on West Indies tour next month. Team India will play two Tests, three ODIs and five T20 matches on this tour. The tour will start from July 12 with a Test match to be played in Dominica. The senior selection committee of BCCI has announced the team for ODIs and Tests. We tell you five big things about Team India's selection.

The selectors have taken many big decisions on this tour. Some veterans have been rested, while many players have returned to the team.

  1. Cheteshwar Pujara, one of the main batsmen of the Test team, has been dropped from the Test team. Pujara could not do well in the ICC World Test Championship and he has to bear the brunt of it. During this, Pujara's shot selection remained in question.
  2. Ajinkya Rahane has been made the vice-captain of the Test team. Rahane had returned to the team from the Test Championship and batted well in both the innings. He was also the vice-captain of the team earlier. But was dropped due to poor form. After his return, he has been given this responsibility again.
  3. Rituraj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal got a chance in the Test team for the first time. Gaikwad was selected as the backup opener for the Test Championship but he did not go due to marriage. Jaiswas went in his place as a backup opener. Now both have been selected in the main team. Rituraj has also got a place in the ODI team.
  4. Sanju Samson and Navdeep Saini have also returned to the team. Saini has been selected in the Test team. At the same time, Samson has returned to the ODI team. Saini has returned to the team after two years. He played his last Test match for India against Australia in Brisbane. Sanju played his last ODI for India against New Zealand in November.
  5. There were reports about Rohit Sharma that his captaincy is in danger but the selectors have kept him as the captain.
TEST Squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

India’s ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shardul Thakur, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.