IND vs WI / Team India's first win of the series - beat West Indies by 7 wickets

Vikrant Shekhawat : Aug 08, 2023, 11:24 PM
IND vs WI: India has indicated a comeback in the T20 series against the West Indies. The team has won the third T20 match by 7 wickets. Captain Hardik Pandya made the team win by hitting six. After this victory, the series score has become 2-1. The fourth match of the series will be played on August 12 in Florida city of America. Batting first after winning the toss, West Indies scored 159 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. Indian team achieved the target of 161 runs by losing 3 wickets in 17.5 overs with the help of Surya and Tilak's innings.

Surya scored his 14th half-century

After Gill's dismissal for 34, Suryakumar Yadav took over the Indian innings. He scored 83 runs on 44 balls. Surya scored the 14th half-century of T20 International.

Surya-Verma's half-century partnership

Suryakumar Yadav shared a half-century partnership with Tilak Verma for the third wicket after the dismissal of the openers. Yadav-Verma pair added 87 runs on 51 balls. This partnership was broken by Alzarri Joseph by dismissing Surya.

This is how India's wickets fell

First: Yashasvi Jaiswal (1 run) – got out on the fourth ball of the first over. He was caught by McCoy by Alzarri Joseph. Wanted to hit a length ball in front of Obed's middle-leg stump, but was caught by Joseph at mid-on.

Second: Shubman Gill (6 runs) – Alzarri Joseph caught by Charles on the second ball of the 5th over. Wanted to pull the ball outside off stump and got out caught at midwicket.

Third: Suryakumar Yadav (83 runs) – got out on the fourth ball of the 13th over. Joseph's low-full toss hit Brandon King at deep backward square.

West Indies scored 159 runs, King played an inning of 42 runs

Batting first after winning the toss, the Windies team scored 159 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

Opener Brandon King played an inning of 42 runs. He gave the team a strong start by sharing an opening partnership of 55 runs with Kyle Mayers. Later, captain Rovman Powell scored 40 runs to take the score past 150.

Kuldeep took 3 wickets from India. He has become the fastest Indian bowler to take 50 wickets in this format. Kuldeep broke Chahal's record of 34 innings.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Mukesh Kumar got one wicket each.

Meyers-King's half-century partnership

Caribbean openers Kyle Mayers and Brandon King got their team off to a great start. Both made an opening partnership of 55 runs on 46 balls. Akshar Patel broke this partnership. he got Meyers out

West Indies wickets fell like this

First: Kyle Meyers (25 runs) - On the fourth ball of the 8th over, Akshar caught Arshdeep at deep backward square. Wanted to play a big shot on the full length ball of the middle stump, but due to miss timing, the ball took the outer edge of the bat and went into the air. Arsh takes a high catch.

Second: Johnson Charles (12 runs) – Kuldeep made LBW on the 5th ball of the 11th over. Charles wanted to slog sweep the turning ball from leg stump towards middle-off stump, but the ball hit the knees. Captain Pandya took DRS after field umpire gave notout and third umpire changed the decision.

Third: Nicholas Pooran (20 runs) - Slow speed flat ball on full length. Pooran could not understand and played the cross in order to hit the big hit. In such a situation, Sanju Samson stumped. 

Fourth: Brandon King (42 runs) - Length ball outside off stump. King wanted to cut, but the pace of the ball was slow and he hit towards Kuldeep. Kuldeep did not make any mistake in catching the catch.

Fifth: Shimron Hetmyer (9 runs) - Mukesh Kumar wanted to hit the ball going outside the off stump at long off, but could not cross the boundary and was caught by Tilak Verma.

Kuldeep returns; Ishaan-Bishnoi is not playing

Team India has landed with two changes. Yashasvi Jaiswal has been brought in place of opener Ishan Kishan. He is making T20 debut in this match. Jaiswal has become the 105th International T20 player. Also Kuldeep Yadav has become fit. He has been brought back in the team in place of Ravi Bishnoi.

Jason Holder from the West Indies side is not playing due to an angle injury, Roston Chase has been fed in his place.

See playing eleven

West Indies: Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Johnson Charles (wk), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell (c), Roston Chase, Romario Shepherd, Akil Hussain, Alzarri Joseph and Obed McCoy.

India: Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Hardik Pandya (captain), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh and Mukesh Kumar.