T20 World Cup / This team will participate in T20 World Cup for the first time, 43 year old player also got a chance

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 07, 2024, 06:00 AM
T20 World Cup: T20 World Cup 2024 is starting from next month on the soil of America and West Indies. 20 teams are participating in the T20 World Cup 2024. These teams have been divided into four groups of five each. Two teams from each group will make it to the Super-8 round. Ugandan team will participate in the T20 World Cup for the first time. Now the team has announced its squad for the upcoming World Cup. Brian Masaba has been made the captain of the team. Riyazat Ali Shah has got the responsibility of vice-captain. 15 players have got a chance in the team.

43 year old Frank Nsubuga got the place

Off-spinner Frank Nsubuga has also got a place in the Ugandan team. He is 43 years old. He is set to become the oldest cricketer to play in the upcoming T20 World Cup. He has played 54 T20I matches for Uganda, in which he has taken 55 wickets. Nsubuga made headlines in the 2022 Cricket World Cup Challenge League match against Kenya by taking a fine catch near the boundary line.

Alpesh Ramjani is performing well

Team spin bowling all-rounder Alpesh Ramjani has also got a chance. He is in excellent form. He was nominated by the ICC for T20I Cricketer of the Year for last year. He has been doing well for Uganda for some time now. Henry Ssenyondo is performing well. Uganda is expecting a good performance from these players in the T20 World Cup.

Uganda team is in Group C

For the T20 World Cup 2024, the Ugandan team will play its first match against Afghanistan on June 3. The Ugandan team is in Group C for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Apart from Uganda, this group includes teams from West Indies, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Afghanistan. Uganda has secured their place for the T20 World Cup by finishing second behind Namibia in the region competition of the Africa Qualifier.

Uganda squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Brian Masaba (captain), Riazat Ali Shah (vice-captain), Kenneth Waiswa, Dinesh Nakrani, Frank Nsubuga, Raunak Patel, Roger Mukasa, Cosmas Kyawuta, Bilal Hassun, Fred Achelam, Robinson Obuya, Simon Sessaji, Henry Sessendo, Alpesh Ramazani. And Juma Miyaji. Reserve players: Ronald Lutaaya and Innocent Mwebaze.