Assembly Election 2023 / Voting dates announced in 5 states - know when elections will be held

Zoom News : Oct 09, 2023, 12:34 PM
Assembly Election 2023: The Commission said that voting will be held in Madhya Pradesh in a single phase on November 17. Voting will be held in Rajasthan on 23 November, Chhattisgarh in two phases on 7 November and 17 November, in Telangana all seats will be voted in a single phase on 30 November and in Mizoram all seats will be voted on 7 November. The results of assembly states will come on 3 December.

Election Commission's press conference is going on on the assembly elections of five states. The Commission is about to announce the dates of state elections. Elections are to be held in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey, Arun Goyal are present in the PC. There are 679 assembly seats in five states and 16.14 crore voters. According to the Election Commission, these include 8.2 crore male voters, 7.8 crore female voters and 60.2 lakh first time voters.

The Chief Election Commissioner said that EC officials visited all five states, discussed with political parties, central government and state governments. ECI said that suggestions from political parties were also taken. The Election Commission said that in five states, there are 17.34 lakh PWD voters and 24.7 lakh 80+ elderly voters who will have the facility to vote from home. The number of women voters has increased in all five states.

1.77 lakh polling stations will be built in five states

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said that 1.77 lakh polling stations will be made for voting. There will be voting facility for 1500 voters per polling station. According to EC, there are 5.6 crore voters in Madhya Pradesh, 5.25 crore voters in Rajasthan, 3.17 crore voters in Telangana, 2.03 crore voters in Chhattisgarh and 8.52 lakh voters in Mizoram. Polling stations will be set up in forest areas reserved for tribals in Madhya Pradesh. In Mizoram, polling parties will have to travel by boat to 22 non-motorized PS and 19 polling stations.