T20 World Cup / Australia announces T20 WC 'Team of the Tournament'

Zoom News : Nov 14, 2022, 09:07 PM
The T20 World Cup 2022 ended with the victory of England. The Jos Buttler-led English team won the title for the second time after beating Babar Azam's Pakistan by 5 wickets in the final. After the tournament was over, the ICC announced the Team of the Tournament. After this, now the host country has revealed its team of the tournament. Cricket Australia has selected two Indians, three England, two Pakistan and 1-1 players from Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, New Zealand and South Africa in this team.

cricket.com.au has picked Jos Buttler and Alex Hales as the openers for their playing XI of the tournament. Both these English players batted brilliantly throughout the tournament, while Buttler and Hales also had a record partnership of 170 runs against India in the semi-finals. Butler scored 225 runs in 6 matches of the T20 World Cup 2022 with a strike rate of 144.23, while in the same number of matches, Hales added 212 runs at a strike rate of 147.22.

In the middle order, he replaced New Zealand's Glenn Phillips along with Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav. Kohli was the tournament's top scorer with an unbelievable average of 98.66, scoring 296 runs with his bat, Suryakumar Yadav scoring 239 and Glenn Phillips scoring 201.

Shadab Khan of Pakistan has been included in this team along with Sikandar Raza of Zimbabwe as a spin all-rounder. Sikandar Raza took 10 wickets in the tournament with 219 runs, while Shadab had 98 runs with 11 wickets to his name. Shadab played a stormy innings of 52 runs in 22 balls against South Africa.

Cricket Australia has selected Sam Curran, Mustafizur Rahman, Shaheen Afridi and Anrich Norkhia as the four fast bowlers of the team. While Kurran was the man of the tournament with 13 wickets, he also won the man of the match award in the final with 3 wickets. Mustafizur has found a place in this team due to his economy rate, during the tournament the left-arm bowler took only 3 wickets at an economy of 5.60. The other two fast bowlers are Shaheen Afridi and Anrich Norkhia who took 11-11 wickets in total.