IND vs AUS / Australia scored 327 on the first day - Head on 146 and Smith on 95 not out

Zoom News : Jun 07, 2023, 10:54 PM
IND vs AUS: The first day of the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) has been named after Australia. At The Oval ground, the Australian team has scored 327 runs for three wickets till stumps. Travis Head returned unbeaten on 146 and Steve Smith 95 runs. Both added 251 runs for the fourth wicket. Head scored 5th career century. He became the first batsman to score a century in the WTC final. Steve Smith is unbeaten after making 38th Fifty. Marnus Labushen got out after scoring 26 runs. He was bowled by Mohammed Shami. Before him, David Warner was dismissed for 43 runs and Usman Khawaja for zero. Warner was dismissed by Shardul and Khawaja by Siraj.

At the beginning of the match, players of both the teams came down with black armbands to pay tribute to the dead in the Balasore train accident.

This is how Australia's wickets fell in the first innings.

First: Siraj bowled a wobble seam ball. Khawaja could not understand this ball and the ball went into the gloves of wicketkeeper KS Bharat kissing the outer edge of the bat. Siraj showed Khwaja the way to the pavilion on the third ball of the fourth over.

Second: Shardul Thakur dismissed David Warner on the fourth ball of the 22nd over. Thakur bowled a bouncer ball of short pitch length, which was going towards Warner's leg stump. Warner pulls but the ball takes the edge of the bat and goes backwards. Wicketkeeper Bharat took the catch by diving to his right.

Third: Mohammed Shami bowled Marnus Labushen on the first ball of the 25th over. Labushen could not understand Shami's inswing ball and the ball scattered the balls while blowing the off-stump.

Double Century Partnership at Smith-Head

After losing the third wicket for 76 runs, Travis Head and Steve Smith took over Australia's innings. Both have crossed the partnership of more than 200 runs for the fourth wicket. Head century and Smith Fifty have been completed.

Fifty Partnership at Warner-Labushen

After losing the first wicket in the fourth over, David Warner and Marnus Labushen took over Australia's innings. Warner hit 4 fours in one over of Umesh Yadav, the two shared a 69-run partnership off 108 balls. Warner fell victim to Shardul after scoring 43 runs and this partnership was broken.

Second: Kangaroos return from the Head-Smith partnership

The second session of the day was named after the Australian team. In this session, the team scored 97 runs losing one wicket. After losing Labushen's wicket early in the season, Steve Smith shared an unbeaten 94 off 164 balls with Trevid Head.

First: Indian pacers dominated

Indian bowlers dominated the first session of the first day. Kangaroo team has lost 2 wickets in scoring 73 runs. On the green track, the Shami-Siraj pair showed their swing and the team got their first success on the fourth ball of the fourth over. Here Siraj sent Khwaja to the pavilion. After losing the first wicket on the score of 2 runs, there was a 69-run partnership between Warner-Labushen. Shardul Thakur broke this partnership.

Playing-11 of both the teams

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Scott Boland.