Delhi Election Result / Congress candidate concedes defeat in Delhi ahead of election results

Mumbai Mirror : Feb 11, 2020, 11:48 AM
New Delhi: Congress party candidate Mukesh Sharma on Tuesday conceded defeat even before the EVMs were opened on results day for the Delhi assembly elections 2020.

Sharma is also Chief Spokesperson and Chairman Digital Communications of the grand-old-party. He took to Twitter saying he will continue to work for the development of his constituency.

Sharma was contesting against BJP's Sanjay Singh, and AAP's Mahinder Yadav who is leading the race.

"I accept my defeat. I thank all the voters and Congress party workers of Vikaspuri and hope that development will take place in the constituency."

"In the future, I will continue to fight for the overall development of Vikaspuri, Uttam Nagar assembly area," he added.'

Currently, AAP is leading on 52 seats and BJP on 18. The Congress is leading in no seats going by the trends at 9.30am.

BJP's Kapil Mishra, Tajinder Bagga are among the candidates who are trailing.

Meanwhile, party national convener Arvind Kejriwal also visited the headquarters along with his father and wife and is expected to stay there until the final results are announced.

There is also a new banner outside the party office, with the same old slogan "Ache honge paanch saal, Delhi mein to Kejriwal" (The next five years will be good since Kejriwal will govern Delhi).

In 2015, AAP had bagged 67 of the 70 seats.