KKR vs RR / Rajasthan beat Kolkata by 9 wickets, Yashasvi hit IPL's fastest fifty

Vikrant Shekhawat : May 11, 2023, 10:45 PM
KKR vs RR: In the 56th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rajasthan Royals defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 9 wickets on the basis of Yashasvi Jaiswal's explosive innings. Batting first after losing the toss at the Eden Gardens Stadium, KKR scored 149 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. In response, Jaiswal scored a not out inning of 98 runs off 47 balls to give RR victory in 13.1 overs.

Sanju Samson remained not out on 48 off 29 balls. Yuzvendra Chahal took 4 wickets and Trent Boult took 2 wickets in the first innings. With this win, Rajasthan Royals reached number three in the points table. At the same time, the difficulties of Kolkata reaching the playoffs have increased.

Yashasvi's Fifty in 13 balls

Chasing the target of 150 runs, Rajasthan got off to an explosive start by Yashasvi Jaiswal. After hitting 2 sixes in the first 2 balls of the innings, he scored 26 runs from the first over. He hit big shots in the second and third over as well and completed his fifty in just 13 balls.

This is the fastest fifty in IPL history. Before him this record was in the name of KL Rahul and Pat Cummins. Rahul completed his half-century in 2018 and Cummins in 2022 in 14 balls.

Jaiswal gave a stormy start

Yashasvi Jaiswal got Rajasthan off to a brisk start in the second innings. After scoring 26 runs in the very first over, he completed his fifty in the third over itself. Jos Buttler was run out on zero, but Yashasvi along with captain Sanju Samson took the team's score to 78 runs in 6 overs.

Lost 2 wickets in powerplay

Batting first after losing the toss, Kolkata got off to a bad start. The team lost the wicket of Jason Roy in the third over itself. In the fifth over, Trent Boult also made Rahmanullah Gurbaz walk. After which the team could only manage 37 runs at the loss of 2 wickets in 6 overs.

No one survived except Venkatesh

Venkatesh Iyer scored 57 runs from Kolkata. Apart from him, none of the other batsmen could play big innings. Jason Roy scored 10, Rahmanullah Gurbaz 18, Nitish Rana 22, Andre Russell 10, Rinku Singh 16, Shardul Thakur 1 and Sunil Narine scored 6 runs from the team. Anukul Roy remained not out on 6 runs.

Chahal took 4 wickets from Rajasthan. Apart from him, Trent Boult got 2 successes, while Sandeep Sharma and KM Asif got 1-1 wickets.

Chahal became top wicket taker

Yuzvendra Chahal became the highest wicket-taker in IPL history by taking 4 wickets against Kolkata. He has 187 wickets in 143 matches. West Indies' Dwayne Bravo is second after Chahal with 183 wickets. Chahal has become the top wicket taker of this season as well. He has 21 wickets in 12 matches.

2 in Rajasthan, one change in Kolkata

Rajasthan have included Trent Boult in place of Obed McCoy and KM Asif in place of Murugan Ashwin. Kolkata, on the other hand, have also made one change in their team, with Anukul Roy returning in place of fast bowler Vaibhav Arora.

Playing-11 of both teams...

Kolkata Knight Riders: Nitish Rana (Captain), Jason Roy, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Shardul Thakur, Harshit Rana and Varun Chakraborty.

Impact Players: Suyyash Sharma, Mandeep Singh and Vaibhav Arora.

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Impact Players: Devdutt Padikkal, Adam Zampa, Riyan Parag, Jason Holder, Obed McCoy.