News / Richest MP in India retains seat to fight upcoming Lok Sabha election

Zee News : Mar 19, 2019, 10:28 AM
Galla Jaydev, with declared assets of over Rs 620 crore, was the richest candidate to contest in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. He will once again fight Lok Sabha election from Guntur. TDP came out with a list of 25 candidates for the 2019 Lok Sabha election with Jaydev being given a ticket from Guntur while former union minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju being picked to contest from Vizianagaram.

In 2014, Naidu had joined hands with the BJP as part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) but eventual differences over special status to Andhra Pradesh led to TDP walking out of the alliance. In Parliament, Jaydev, who has spent several years working in the US, mounted an attack on the central government over the issue. Now, political analysts say, he and other party veterans will have to walk the extra distance to ensure TDP retains some of its bragging rights in the upcoming election - if not all.

Tuesday's list of candidates also includes the name of Kesineni Srinivas who will battle from Vijaywada and N Sivaprasad who will contest from Chittoor.