Rajya Sabha Elections / Sonia Gandhi-JP Nadda reached Rajya Sabha - these leaders were also elected unopposed

Zoom News : Feb 20, 2024, 06:30 PM
Rajya Sabha Elections: Senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi has been elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha MP from Rajasthan. Apart from him, BJP's Chunnilal Garasia and Madan Rathore have also been elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan. Assembly Secretary Mahavir Prasad Sharma said that he has been elected unopposed. Tuesday was the last day for withdrawal of nominations. Assembly Secretary Mahavir Prasad Sharma said- Since no other candidate was contesting against them, these three leaders have been elected unopposed.

On the other hand, BJP national president JP Nadda and three other candidates of the party have also been declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Gujarat. Four Rajya Sabha seats were vacant in Gujarat and candidates of the ruling BJP had filed their nomination papers on all the seats. Apart from Nadda, the three other candidates elected unopposed are diamond businessman Govindbhai Dholakia, BJP leader Jaswant Singh Parmar and Mayank Nayak.

Manmohan Singh's tenure is ending

The tenure of Dr. Manmohan Singh of Congress and Bhupendra Yadav of BJP is ending on 3 April. The third seat of BJP MP Kirori Lal Meena had also become vacant. Kirori Lal Meena had resigned from the House in December after being elected MLA. There are 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan. After these results, Congress has six members and BJP has four members.

Letter written for the residents of Rae Bareli

Earlier, Sonia Gandhi had written a letter making it clear that she would not contest the next Lok Sabha elections from Rae Bareli. He had written an emotional letter to the people of Rae Bareli and thanked the people of Rae Bareli as well as Amethi for their support. Sonia Gandhi had also told that due to health reasons she wants to step away from active politics.

All six candidates of Bihar elected

On the other hand, all the six candidates from Bihar have been elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha. Two candidates from BJP, two from RJD, one from RJD and one from Congress were in the fray for Rajya Sabha from Bihar. All have been elected members of Rajya Sabha unopposed. Bhim Singh and Dharamsheela Gupta had filed nomination from BJP's side while Sanjay Jha from JDU was made the candidate for Rajya Sabha. Manoj Jha and Sanjay Yadav from Rashtriya Janata Dal and Akhilesh Prasad Singh from Congress had filed nomination.