India / 3 AAP MPs suspended from Rajya Sabha over sloganeering against farm laws

Vikrant Shekhawat : Feb 03, 2021, 02:21 PM
New Delhi: Three Aam Aadmi Party members have been suspended from the  Rajya Sabha  for the day for  disrupting the proceedings of the House. They are Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta and ND Gupta. When the Upper House was taking up discussion on the Motion of Thanks of the President’s address to the Joint Sitting of both the Houses of Parliament, the three members trooped into the well raising slogans against the farm laws. 

Chairman repeatedly urged them to go back to their seats and allow the discussion. But they continued sloganeering which led to the naming of the three MPs to withdraw from the House. As they were adamant not to leave, the House was adjourned for a brief period. When the House reassembled, the suspended members were still in the House on which the chair called marshals.