Rajya Sabha Elections / BJP released new list of candidates for Rajya Sabha, Nadda-Ashok Chavan got tickets from here

Zoom News : Feb 14, 2024, 03:30 PM
Rajya Sabha Elections: Bharatiya Janata Party has released the new list of Rajya Sabha candidates from Gujarat and Maharashtra. Party president JP Nadda will be the Rajya Sabha candidate from Gujarat while Ashok Chavan, who recently joined the party, has got the Rajya Sabha ticket from Maharashtra. The names of four candidates from Gujarat are in the new list released by the party for the Rajya Sabha biennial elections. Apart from JP Nadda, the party has declared Govind Bhai Dholakia, Mayankbhai Nayak and Dr. Jashwant Singh Salam Singh Parmar as Rajya Sabha candidates from Gujarat. Whereas from Maharashtra the party has given Rajya Sabha tickets to Ashok Chavan, Medha Kulkarni and Dr. Ajit Gopchade.

The last date for filing nominations is February 15 while the scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on February 16. Candidates will be able to withdraw their names till 20th February. If necessary, voting will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on February 27 and counting of votes will take place from 5 pm on the same day.

BJP did not field Prakash Javadekar, V Muraleedharan and Narayan Rane as Rajya Sabha candidates from Maharashtra. Whereas the names of Union Ministers Mansukh Mandaviya and Purushottam Rupala are not in the Rajya Sabha list of Gujarat. According to the information, BJP can field Mansukh Mandaviya and Purushottam Rupala in the Lok Sabha elections.

Whom did the party give a chance in the first list?

The names of a total of 14 people were in the first list of Bharatiya Janata Party. In the first list, the party had announced the names of 7 candidates from Uttar Pradesh. These 7 people were – Sudhanshu Trivedi, RPN Singh, Tejveer Singh, Sadhna Singh, Sangeeta Balwant, Naveen Jain and Amarpal Maurya. Apart from these seven Bharatiya Janata Party leaders, BJP had made Dr Dharamsheela Gupta and Bhim Singh its candidates from Bihar.

Apart from this, the party had released a list of 5 people for Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Karnataka and West Bengal. The party has given Rajya Sabha tickets to Raja Devendra Pratap Singh from Chhattisgarh, Mahendra Bhatt from Uttarakhand, Subhash Barala from Haryana, Narayan Krishnasa Bhandge from Karnataka, Samik Bhattacharya from West Bengal.