Rajya Sabha / BJP's 1 candidate and Congress' 3 candidates won in Karnataka Rajya Sabha elections

Zoom News : Feb 27, 2024, 08:34 PM
Rajya Sabha: Congress has won all three seats of its share in the Karnataka Rajya Sabha elections. As expected, BJP got 1 seat. However, the alliance candidate Kupendra Reddy, who created a stir in the state politics, has lost. Due to this, the mathematics of Kumaraswamy and BJP leaders has changed. Along with this, this is another defeat for the alliance even before the Lok Sabha elections. Congress's Ajay Maken by 47 votes, Naseer Hussain by 47 votes and G.C. Chandrashekhar won by 45 votes, while BJP's Narayanasa Bhanda managed to win by securing 47 votes.

Whereas Kupendra Reddy, who contested the election as the fifth candidate, got 36 votes. Alliance candidate Kupendra Reddy got 19 votes from JD(S), while ally BJP got only 16 votes. Due to this Kupendra Reddy has been defeated.

BJP and GDS alliance candidate lost

With many equations, JDS and BJP had fielded the fifth candidate. Due to this, the ruling Congress naturally started fearing cross voting. Frightened by this, Siddaramaiah DK Shivakumar has been successful in attracting the votes of his MLAs as well as BJP and non-party MLAs by making a strategy.

KRPP MLAs Gali Janardhan Reddy, Darshan Puttannaiah, Putta Siddegowda, Latha Mallikarjuna have supported Congress and voted for Congress candidates. No Congress MLA had done cross voting. Besides, success has been achieved in stopping another BJP MLA Shivram Hebbar from voting. The strategy of Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar has been successful.

Second defeat of BJP-GDS alliance

This is the second defeat of BJP-JDS alliance. In the Bengaluru Teachers Constituency elections also, alliance candidate Ranganath lost to Congress's Puttanna

Out of total 223 votes, 222 MLAs cast their votes in the Rajya Sabha elections. Yallapur BJP MLA Shivram Hebbar remained absent from the voting. In this background, 99.5% voting took place.

135 Congress MLAs, three non-party MLAs, 65 BJP MLAs and 19 JD(S) MLAs also voted. Out of these, Somashekhar has voted for the first Congress candidate Ajay Maken. Another BJP leader Shivram Hebbar abstained from voting.