Political / Congress releases fifth list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections

India Today : Mar 19, 2019, 10:11 AM
Congress on Monday night released its fifth list of 56 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, including 22 from Andhra Pradesh and 11 from West Bengal. The list also included eight candidates from Telangana, six from Odisha and five from Assam, besides three remaining seats from Uttar Pradesh. The Congress has fielded former president Pranab Mukherjee's son Abhijit Mukherjee from Jangipur Lok Sabha seat.

The party also fielded former Union minister M M Pallam Raju from Kakinada constituency and party's former Rajya Sabha member J D Seelam from Bapatla reserved seat.

The party also fielded its Rajya Sabha member Bhubaneswar Kalita from Mangaldoi in Assam and former Union minister Bhakt Charan Das from Kalahandi in Odisha.

The Conrgess also fielded its state party chief Uttam Kumar Reddy from Nalgonda in Telangana.

The list was declared after a meeting of the Congress Central Election Committee chaired by party chief Rahul Gandhi earlier in the day.

The Congress has so far announced a total of 137 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections.