Elections 2024 / If these states had not supported, BJP would have been reduced to less than 200

Vikrant Shekhawat : Jun 05, 2024, 08:39 AM
Elections 2024: The results of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections have been declared. BJP has suffered a major setback in the elections. BJP, which had won a majority on its own last time, has not been able to cross the 250 mark this time and has been restricted to 240 seats. However, the BJP-led NDA has been successful in crossing the majority mark. NDA has got 292 seats. In the 2019 general elections, this figure was 352 and BJP had won 303 seats on its own.

In this election, BJP has suffered the biggest loss in Uttar Pradesh, Bengal, Rajasthan and Haryana. Out of 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh, BJP has got 33 seats while in the 2019 elections this figure was 64. The same situation has been seen in Bengal, where BJP has been reduced to 12 seats this time while it had won 17 seats in the last election. In Rajasthan, BJP has come down to 14 seats after losing 10 seats. Out of 10 seats in Haryana, only 5 have been won this time, whereas last time all 10 seats were won.

Congress's last fort also collapsed in Madhya Pradesh

As far as support is concerned, the people of Madhya Pradesh have given full support to BJP in this election. BJP has won 29 out of 29 seats in the state. Kamal Nath's political fort in Chhindwara also collapsed here. In the 2019 elections, BJP had got 28 seats here, but had to face defeat in Chhindwara. This time BJP has also hoisted the saffron flag in Chhindwara, which is called Kamal Nath's stronghold. Chhindwara was the last fort of Congress in Madhya Pradesh, which collapsed this time. BJP's Bunty Sahu defeated former CM Kamal Nath's son Nakul Nath by more than one lakh votes.

Chhattisgarhis also did not disappoint

Out of 11 Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh, BJP has been successful in getting 10 in its camp. Congress leader and former CM Bhupesh Baghel has also faced defeat. Former CM has been defeated by BJP MP Santosh Pandey by more than 44 thousand votes. Congress has won only the seat of Korba. Congress had declared Jyotsna Mahant, wife of Leader of Opposition Charandas Mahant, as its candidate from here. In the 2019 elections, BJP got 9 seats here.

Less loss but more benefit in Gujarat

Like always, this time too the people of Gujarat did not disappoint BJP. BJP has been successful in winning 25 out of 26 seats here. However, this time it lost one seat. The seat of Banskatha has gone to Congress this time and Jeniben Thakor has won. BJP had won Surat Lok Sabha seat of Gujarat even before the voting. Gujarat is the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and also the stronghold of BJP.

Bumper seat in Odisha

The people of Odisha have also supported BJP wholeheartedly this time. Out of 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, BJP has been successful in winning 20. BJP has got more than 45 percent votes this time, whereas Odisha was called the stronghold of Naveen Patnaik-led BJD. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP had got 8 seats. In this way, this time it has directly benefited by 13 seats.

Clean sweep in Delhi too

The people of Delhi have also fully supported BJP and Modi. BJP has been successful in repeating its performance here once again. BJP has won all seven seats in Delhi. In a way, this time also the opposition parties have been wiped out here. Similarly, in Himachal also it has been successful in winning all 4 seats. In Uttarakhand too, BJP has once again repeated its performance and won all five seats. At the same time, both the seats of 2 in Arunachal Pradesh have once again come in the BJP's bag.

If we look at it this way, if these states had not stood with BJP, then the political equations regarding the Lok Sabha election results would have been different. If states like Odisha, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Uttarakhand had not stood with BJP, then the party would have probably been reduced to less than 200 seats.