Parliament Session / The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha will begin tomorrow - PM and newly elected MPs will take oath

Vikrant Shekhawat : Jun 23, 2024, 02:02 PM
Parliament Session: After the completion of the elections, the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha will begin on Monday i.e. 24 June, in which the newly elected MPs including Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take oath. After this, the Speaker will be elected and President Draupadi Murmu will address the joint meeting of both the Houses. This will be the first Lok Sabha session in the 18th Lok Sabha after the completion of the Lok Sabha elections. In this election, the NDA has a majority with 293 seats, while the BJP has 240 seats, which is less than the majority figure of 272. The opposition party India has 234 seats, while the Congress has 99 seats.

This is the complete program

  • PM Modi and his Council of Ministers will take oath from 11 am tomorrow.
  • After PM Modi takes oath, other members of the Council of Ministers will take oath.
  • After this, MPs from different states will take oath according to alphabetical order.
  • The newly elected MPs of Assam will take oath first and then the MPs of West Bengal will take oath.
  • PM Modi and his Council of Ministers, along with 280 newly elected MPs, will take oath tomorrow.
  • The next day (25 June) 264 newly elected MPs will take oath.
These will be the Protem Speakers

The controversy over the appointment of BJP leader and seven-time member Bhartruhari Mahtab as the Protem Speaker is likely to impact the session. The move has been criticised by the Opposition, which has alleged that the government has ignored the claim of Congress member Kodikunnil Suresh for the post.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju said Mahtab has seven uninterrupted terms as a Lok Sabha member, making him eligible for the post. Suresh lost the elections in 1998 and 2004, making his current term his fourth consecutive in the lower house. Earlier, he was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1989, 1991, 1996 and 1999.

On Monday, President Draupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office to Mahtab as the Lok Sabha's pro tem speaker at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Mahtab will then arrive at Parliament and call the Lok Sabha to order at 11 am.

The proceedings will begin with members observing silence to mark the first sitting of the 18th Lok Sabha. Lok Sabha Secretary General Utpal Kumar Singh will then table the list of members elected to the Lok Sabha. Mahtab will then meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the leader of the Lok Sabha, to take oath as a member of the House. The pro tem speaker will then administer the oath of office to a panel of chairmen appointed by the President to assist him in running the proceedings of the House until the Speaker's election on June 26.

The President has appointed Kodikunnil Suresh (Congress), TR Baalu ​​(DMK), Radha Mohan Singh and Faggan Singh Kulaste (both BJP) and Sudip Bandyopadhyay (Trinamool Congress) to assist Mahtab in administering the oath to the newly elected members in the Lok Sabha. The election for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker will be held on June 26 and the Prime Minister will introduce his Council of Ministers in the House soon after.

The President is scheduled to address a joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament on June 27. The debate on the motion of thanks to the President's address will begin on June 28. PM Modi is expected to respond to the debate on July 2 or 3. Both Houses are expected to have a brief recess and reassemble on July 22 to present the Union Budget.