India / No one can take away my post as party worker: Sushil Modi

Zoom News : Nov 16, 2020, 04:33 PM
Patna: Amid speculations that he will not be serving as Bihar Deputy Chief Minister anymore, senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi on Sunday said that nobody could take away his post as party worker.

Even as there is no official announcement over the appointment of Deputy Chief Minister, Modi took to Twitter to congratulate BJP MLAs Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi who have reportedly been given the post, according to sources.

“In the political life of 40 years, the BJP and the Sangh Parivar have given me so much than other person would have got it. In the future also, will fulfill whatever responsibility I get. No one can take away my post as party worker,” he said in a tweet, roughly translated from Hindi

Nitish to remain Bihar CM

Earlier in the day, the NDA in Bihar unanimously elected Nitish Kumar as its leader in the state legislature, paving the way for his fourth consecutive term in Chief Minister office.

After being elected as the leader of the NDA, Kumar met Governor Phagu Chauhan to stake claim for the formation of the new government in the state. He will be sworn-in as Bihar CM on Monday evening.

"The Governor was handed over the letter of support from all four constituents of the NDA. As per his direction, we shall be taking oath at the Raj Bhavan, tomorrow, around 4- 4.30 P.M", said Kumar, who is on course to become the longest-serving Chief Minister of Bihar.

"After the swearing-in, we will convene the meeting of the cabinet where a decision on convening the assembly session will be taken,” he added.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, who has been sent to Bihar as an observer of the BJP, earlier today said that "it will be known in due course” whether Modi will be the deputy chief minister again.

NDA sweeps Bihar polls

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), comprising BJP and Janata Dal (United), retained power in the state with a simple majority, securing 125 seats in the 243-member state Assembly.

The BJP, which had contested 110 seats won 74 while Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) which fought 115, won only 43 seats against the 71 it won in the 2015 Assembly election.

The opposition coalition, led by Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav and also comprising Congress and Left parties managed to bag 110 Assembly seats.