Lok Sabha Election / All BJP MPs who won the assembly elections resigned - Balaknath will remain MP!

Zoom News : Dec 06, 2023, 02:22 PM
Lok Sabha Election: In the assembly elections held in five states, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had fielded many of its MPs, in which many also won. This includes stalwarts like Narendra Singh Tomar, Rajvardhan Singh Rathore and Prahlad Patel. These MPs have now resigned from Parliament membership on Wednesday. These BJP leaders submitted their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla.

Those who resigned are Kirori Lal Meena, Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Patel, Rajvardhan Singh Rathore, Diya Kumari, Reeti Pathak and Arun Sau, Rakesh Singh, Uday Pratap Singh. BJP President JP Nadda was also present during the meeting of these MPs with Om Birla. However, Baba Balaknath's resignation has not happened yet. Kirori Lal Meena has resigned from the membership of Rajya Sabha.

Let us tell you that Baba Balaknath's name is included in the race for Chief Minister of Rajasthan. Since his name is not in the list of resigned MPs, questions are being raised whether the party will keep him as MP. This would mean that he would be out of the CM race also.

List of MPs who resigned

Narendra Singh Tomar

Prahlad Singh Patel

Rakesh Singh

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore

Diya Kumari

Uday Pratap Singh

Kirori Lal Meena

Riti Pathak

Arun Saw

Gomti Sai

What does the rule say?

Let us tell you that the Lok Sabha members who contest the assembly elections of their state and register victory, all of them have to choose one seat among the fixed MLA or MP. This work has to be done in 14 days.

According to Supreme Court lawyer Ashwani Kumar Dubey, according to Article 101 (2) of the Constitution, a person winning the assembly elections has to resign from one of the houses within 14 days of the issuance of the notification. In case of contesting and winning elections from two Lok Sabha or two Assemblies simultaneously, there is a rule to resign from one seat within 14 days of the notification.