Ind vs Ban 2nd ODI / Rohit Sharma's fighting 51 in vain, BAN beat IND by 5 runs, take 2-0 lead in series

Zoom News : Dec 07, 2022, 08:18 PM
Ind vs Ban 2nd ODI : Team India lost to Bangladesh by 5 runs in the second ODI despite skipper Rohit Sharma's unbeaten 51 off 28 balls. Chasing a target of 272 runs, India scored 260 runs for 9 wickets in 49.4 overs. Two sixes were needed off the last two balls. Rohit hit a six on the fifth ball but could not do so on the last ball. With this, Bangladesh has taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

This is India's second consecutive series defeat in Bangladesh in ODIs. Earlier in 2015, Bangladesh defeated India 2-1 in the ODI series.

40 runs were needed in the last 3 overs

Rohit Sharma could not open in this innings due to thumb injury. He landed as the number nine batsman. India needed 40 runs in the last three overs of the game. Mohammad Siraj was on strike in the 48th over and Rohit was on non-strike. Mustafizur Rahman did not allow Siraj to take even 1 run in this over.

Now in the last two overs, India needed 40 runs to win. Mahmudullah got 20 runs in this over. Rohit hit a six on the first and third ball of this over. Apart from this, he also took two doubles and a single. Three runs were found as wides.

India needed 20 runs off the last 6 balls.

  • Rohit Dot played the first ball of Mustafizur. The ball did not hit his bat.
  • Rohit played the second ball towards deep third man for 4 runs.
  • On the third ball too, Rohit hit a boundary towards the third man.
  • Rohit tried to sweep the fourth ball but did not succeed. It was a dot ball.
  • The Indian skipper sent the fifth ball towards the front site screen for 6 runs.
  • The last ball was of yorker length. Rohit could not hit it properly and no run was scored. In this way India lost the match by 5 runs.
  • Ibadat Hossain took 3 wickets for Bangladesh. Mehidy Hasan and Shakib Al Hasan got identical 2-2 wickets. While one wicket came in the part of Mustafizur Rahman.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Bangladesh scored 271 runs for 7 wickets in 50 overs. Mehdi Hasan Miraj (100) was the top scorer from his side. While Mahmudullah scored 77 runs. Washington Sundar took the maximum 3 wickets from India. While Umran Malik and Mohammad Siraj got 2-2 successes.

Century partnership between Iyer-Patel

Shreyas Iyer, who came to play at number-3 in place of Virat Kohli, and Akshar Patel, who landed at number four, shared a partnership of 107 runs in 101 balls for the 5th wicket. Both scored half-centuries. First Shreyas completed his half-century off 69 balls. He scored 82 runs on 102 balls. This innings included 6 fours and 3 sixes. This is Iyer's 14th ODI fifty. Iyer has scored 6 half-centuries and a century in the last 11 matches of this format. After Shreyas, Akshar completed his third ODI half-century in 50 balls. He got out after scoring 56 runs.

Openers scored 13 runs India's opening pair returned

to the pavilion on a team score of 13 runs. Virat Kohli got out after scoring 5 runs while Shikhar Dhawan scored 8 runs. Kohli could not reach the score of Dahai for the second consecutive match. He could only score 9 runs in the last match. He had replaced captain Rohit Sharma. Regular opener Rohit was injured while fielding. They didn't come for the opening.

How the wickets of Team India fell

  • Virat Kohli: Bowled by Ibadat Hussain.
  • Shikhar Dhawan: Rahman caught by Mehdi Hasan Miraj.
  • Washington Sundar: Shakib caught by Liton Das.
  • KL Rahul: Mehdi Hasan bowls a slower ball, Rahul misses the ball in front of the wicket and becomes LBW.
  • Shreyas Iyer: Wanted to play a big shot off Mehdi Hasan. Caught by Afif at deep midwicket.
  • Akshar Patel: Shakib was caught at extra cover on Ibadat Hussain's ball.
  • Shardul Thakur: Caught by Mushfiqur Rahim behind the stumps on the ball of Shakib Al Hasan.
  • Deepak Chahar: Nazmul Hussain was caught by Ibadat Hussain.

Bangladesh's biggest partnership against India

Mahmudullah got out after scoring 77 runs. He was caught by Umran Malik behind the wicket by KL Rahul. Umran broke the partnership of 148 runs. This is the highest partnership for any wicket by Bangladesh against India in ODIs. The previous record was 133 runs. Anamul Haque and Mushfiqur Rahim did that partnership in 2014.

Mehdi Hasan again became a problem for Team India

Mehdi Hasan once again became a problem for Team India. He scored a century. Chasing a target of 187 in the last match, Bangladesh lost six wickets for 128. Mehdi Hasan, who came to play after that, had crossed the sinking ship of his team by playing an unbeaten inning of 38 runs. He forged fruitful partnerships with Afif Hussain, Ibadat Hussain and Hasan Mahmood.

Sundar took 2 wickets in one over, missed a hat-trick

Washington Sundar took 2 wickets in 2 balls. He got Mushfiqur Rahim (12) caught by Dhawan on the 5th ball of the 19th over and Afif Hussain (0) was bowled on the last ball. Although Sundar could not complete his hat-trick, he took 3 wickets. Earlier he had Shakib Al Hasan (8) caught by Dhawan.

Bangladesh wickets fell like this...

  • Anamul Haque: Inswing ball near good length by Siraj, which hit Haque's knee, umpire gave LBW.
  • Liton Das: Clean bowled by Siraj.
  • Najmul Hasan Shanto: Umran Malik bowled Shanto.
  • Shakib Al Hasan: Caught by Dhawan on Sundar's ball. Although he dropped the catch in the first, but Dhawan caught it in the second attempt.
  • Mushfiqur Rahim: Dhawan caught by Sundar behind the wicket.
  • AfRaif Hussain: Sundar bowled it.
  • Mahmudullah: Umran Malik caught by KL Rahul behind the wicket.
  • Kuldeep ruled out due to back strain
Fast bowler Kuldeep Sen is not playing in the second ODI due to a back strain. After the first match, the 26-year-old bowler complained of a back strain. In such a situation, the medical team of BCCI has advised him to rest. He is under observation.

Team India landed with 2 changes, one change in Bangladesh… see playing-11

Team India has made 2 changes in playing. While there is a change in Bangladesh. Indian captain Rohit Sharma has given a chance to Umran Malik in place of fast bowler Kuldeep Sen and Akshar Patel in place of Shahbaz Ahmed. At the same time, Nazmul Hasan has been included in the playing in place of Hasan Mahmood in Bangladesh.

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das (Captain), Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Ibadat Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Washington Sundar, Akshar Patel, Umran, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar and Mohammad Siraj.