Rajasthan New CM / Who will become the Chief Minister of Rajasthan after the landslide victory? Name of these leaders in the race

Zoom News : Dec 04, 2023, 11:05 AM
Rajasthan New CM: BJP has got a landslide victory in the Rajasthan Assembly elections. He has crossed the majority mark. Now the new discussion is that who will BJP make the Chief Minister in Rajasthan. According to sources, till now 4 names are prominently emerging in the race for the post of Chief Minister, which include former CM Vasundhara Raje, Mahant Balaknath, Rajasthan BJP chief CP Joshi and Union Minister Gajendra Shekhawat. It is noteworthy that out of 200 assembly seats in Rajasthan, BJP has won 115 seats. Whereas Congress was limited to only 69 seats. Others include 15 candidates.

Mahant Balaknath

Mahant Balaknath remained in the news a lot in this election. He is a BJP MP from Alwar and has won the Tijara seat. He is currently 40 years old and like UP CM Yogi Adityanath, he comes from the Nath sect. He took Sannyasa at the age of 6 and he always wanted to serve the society.

Vasundhara Raje

Vasundhara Raje is a big face of BJP in Rajasthan. She has also been the Chief Minister of Rajasthan before. Raje, a two-time former chief minister, won from Jhalrapatan constituency in Jhalawar by a margin of 53,193 votes and secured a new term in the House by securing a total of 1,38,831 votes. She defeated Congress candidate Ramlal, who got 85,638 votes.

CP Joshi and Shekhawat

CP Joshi, two-time Lok Sabha member from Chittorgarh since 2014, is also in the race for the post of Chief Minister. He is also currently the President of Rajasthan BJP. Apart from this, Lok Sabha member from Jodhpur and Union Jal Shakti Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat is also being seen as a strong contender to become the Chief Minister. Shekhawat has been representing Jodhpur in the lower house since 2014.

Diya Kumari and Rajendra Rathore

Emerging leader Diya Kumari, who won the Vidyadhar Nagar seat on a BJP ticket, is also seen as a strong CM contender. Diya Kumari is the granddaughter of Man Singh II, the last ruler of the princely state of Jaipur. After joining BJP in 2013, Diya Kumari won both the elections contested on the party ticket. She became an elected member of the Legislative Assembly from Sawai Madhopur constituency in 2013. She was elected MP from Rajsamand in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Leader of opposition in Rajasthan Assembly Rajendra Rathod was also being seen as a possible CM contender in the elections. However, he lost to Congress candidate Narendra Budania by a margin of 10,345 votes.

What did BJP National General Secretary Arun Singh say?

Speaking to reporters after emerging victorious in the assembly elections, BJP national general secretary Arun Singh said, "We fought the Rajasthan elections under the leadership of PM Modi and people voted us back in the state. I congratulate all the party workers , who worked tirelessly in the last 5 years, and also thank you to the people of Rajasthan.” He said the BJP's highest decision-making body, the Parliamentary Board, will take the final decision on the chief minister's post.

It is noteworthy that on November 25, voting was held for 199 out of 200 assembly seats in Rajasthan. The majority figure in the state is 100. Voting for Karanpur constituency was postponed after the death of Congress candidate Gurmeet Singh Koonar.