President Elections: / With the announcement of Draupadi Murmu's name in the presidential election, the game started

Zoom News : Jun 23, 2022, 06:37 PM
Presidential Elections: The election for the post of President is to be held on July 18 between former Jharkhand Governor Draupadi Murmu and former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha. President Ram Nath Kovind's term ends on July 24. The country will get a new Majesty even before his term ends. The BJP-led NDA government has fielded Draupadi Murmu as its presidential candidate. On the other hand, the opposition parties have finalized the name of Yashwant Sinha. Murmu is leading the race in the presidential election. However, the NDA does not have a majority yet. On the other hand, due to the disturbed political maths in Maharashtra, the prospects of opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha are getting weaker. Let us know who will have the upper hand and what is the mathematics of presidential election...

NDA numbers game

With the support of Biju Janata Dal, JDU and YSRCP, NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu's victory in the presidential election is considered certain. The ruling NDA does not have a majority in the Electoral College of the Presidential elections, but it has an influence on 49 percent of the votes. NDA has the potential to get 532351 votes out of 1086431. Out of this, YSRCP has 45,550 votes and AIADMK has 14,940 votes. In such a situation, the support of Biju Janata Dal and YSRCP alone is enough for Draupadi Murmu's victory.

Draupadi Murmu's name will benefit

Along with finalizing the name of Draupadi Murmu, NDA has hit many targets with one arrow. With this the support of the NDA Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) can also be counted. The Jhajhumo may be in alliance with the Congress in Jharkhand at the moment, but is more likely to support Murmu, who hails from the Santhal tribe. Senior BJP leaders say parties such as the Akali, TDP and BSP that have not joined the opposition are also likely to favor Murmu, the first tribal woman candidate for the highest constitutional post.

A BJP leader on condition of anonymity said, “There has been a very positive response to his (Murmu) nomination. Several leaders across party lines have lauded the NDA's decision to nominate a humble leader who comes from a poor background. It will not be a surprise if other parties which are considered anti-BJP will also decide to support him.”

Voting for the post is done through secret ballot and since the members are not tied to any party-whip, the BJP leader said there is a possibility of cross voting to support Murmu. The BJP-led NDA, which falls short of the required majority of around 20,000 votes and is relying on friendly parties like the BJD, to support its candidate. YSR, which is not a part of NDA but has extended support to Murmu as a friendly party.

Naveen Patnaik's appeal will work

Soon after the nomination, Odisha Chief Minister and Janata and BJD chief Naveen Patnaik appealed to all the MLAs of the state to vote for Draupadi Murmu. "I appeal to all the members of the Odisha Legislative Assembly, across party lines, to extend their unanimous support to take Draupadi Murmu, the daughter of Odisha, to the highest office in the country," he said.

Nitish took away the lessons

Bihar Chief Minister and JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar's statement welcoming Murmu's nomination has also put an end to speculation that the ongoing tension between the BJP and JD(U) may have an adverse effect on the presidential election.

What will happen to the opposition due to the turmoil in Maharashtra?

After the political turmoil in Maharashtra, the state government is on the verge of collapse. Due to this too, the difficulty has increased for Yashwant Sinha, the opposition candidate for the presidential election. The BJP leader told that now the matter has also become interesting because how will the MLAs vote. The NDA may also get support from the Shiv Sena camp led by Eknath Shinde which has declared a rebellion against Uddhav Thackeray.

What is the mathematics of presidential election

The vote for the President includes 543 Lok Sabha MPs, 233 Rajya Sabha MPs and 4,033 MLAs from across the country. The total value of the votes of MPs for this election is 5,43,200 and the total value of votes of MLAs is 5,43,231, adding up to a total of 1086431 votes in the collegium. Though NDA is the largest group in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, it still needs the support of smaller parties and independent candidates to win. BJP is in power in 18 states. It will get a total of 5,32,351 votes out of 1086431 votes. Whereas 5,43,216 votes are needed for victory.