Maharashtra Politics / Consensus reached on Maharashtra seat sharing in NDA, who knows how much will go to whose account?

Vikrant Shekhawat : Mar 09, 2024, 09:12 AM
Maharashtra Politics: A meeting of NDA alliance leaders regarding Maharashtra Lok Sabha seats took place at the residence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah for more than two and a half hours. There was brainstorming till late night regarding seat distribution. Seat by seat discussion was held in the meeting and emphasis was laid on giving tickets on the basis of winning candidate and composition. BJP President JP Nadda, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, Deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar were present in this meeting.

According to sources, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Ajit Pawar faction is likely to get 3 to 4 seats, while Ajit Pawar wants more seats. Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde faction is expected to get 12 to 13 seats, while BJP can contest on around 32 seats. Changes in some Lok Sabha seats between BJP and Shiv Sena were also discussed in the meeting. There is also a possibility of some tickets from Shiv Sena quota being cut.

BJP wants to contest elections on more seats in Mumbai

According to sources, there is also a possibility of exchange of three to four seats between Shiv Sena and BJP. There may be some changes in the seats of Nationalist Congress Party also. Shiv Sena may leave some seats for BJP in Mumbai. The saffron party will contest elections on more seats in Mumbai, while Shiv Sena is emphasizing on contesting elections on Thane-Kalyan seats. The formula for giving tickets to the candidates on the basis of winability was discussed.

According to sources, BJP suggested Shiv Sena to change some candidates. BJP leaders are apprehensive about the victory of some Shiv Sena candidates. At the beginning of the meeting, discussion on Shiv Sena's Lok Sabha candidates was started by Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde. Later, on behalf of NCP, Ajit Pawar discussed the names of his Lok Sabha candidates.

Now let us tell you the figures of seat distribution during the Lok Sabha elections in 2019. In 2019, there was an alliance between BJP and Shiv Sena and BJP contested elections on 25 seats, out of which it won 23 seats. At the same time, Uddhav Thackeray led Shiv Sena had contested elections on 23 seats and won 18 seats.

MVA meeting to be held today regarding seat distribution

On the other hand, a meeting of Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi is going to be held today regarding the distribution of seats for the Lok Sabha elections, but before that, mutual differences have emerged in the alliance. Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi chief Prakash Ambedkar's statement on seat distribution of Maha Vikas Aghadi raised questions on the unity of the alliance. He said that the responsibility of saving the India alliance is not only on his party. This responsibility lies with all the allies. Prakash claims that there is no coordination between Congress, NCP and Uddhav group on about 15 seats. At the same time, Shiv Sena Uddhav faction claims that the final opinion regarding the seats will be put before the public in the next 2-3 days.